new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Randomness
2006-03-04, 10:50 p.m.

The first week of the new address has been fairly uneventful other than the minor fiasco involving getting the phone line working (did I write about that in the last entry? I can't remember... Anyways...). I've between working and commuting, I've really not had time to do much settling in (my commute isn't actually longer in terms of time, but definitely longer in miles, so it feels much longer, in general).

Luckily, Jack has hardly seemed to notice, or at least care about, the new surroundings. If anything, he's actually sleeping better at night now than he has in a couple of months now. Of course, maybe he's just too busy with his teething to care about anything. Luckily he hasn't been cranky, but after he had just the one tooth for the longest time, suddenly they're all popping up out of nowhere. He has 5 now that have either partly or completely broken through and the other 3 (of the front incisors, I mean) are visible just under the surface so they'll be popping through any day now.

And finally, things at work just keep getting better and better, and by "better and better" I mean worse and worse. I was worried for the longest time that if I didn't show the appropriate level of interest in that Investgations position that was quasi-offered to me that it would make me look bad to the new department manager. I don't really know... I guess I just saw it as something like looking a gift horse in the mouth type of thing--it was presented to me like they knew they wanted me from the beginning. I was told not to talk to my peers about the position or that I was talked to about it (including the person who eventually got the job). Well anyhow, suffice it to say I was led to believe that all I had to do what put my name in the hat once the position was posted. Even before all of this, when I first found out that the position was being created my first thought was, "Who on earth is going to want that job?" Okay, so in summary... I thought the Investigations position was just about the worst thing ever, but I felt like I was going to be pushed into doing it. I was afraid to turn it down, thinking that going against the new manager would be equivalent to shooting myself in the foot. Well, through a sequence of events that was very much related to me being out on maternity leave (though not directly enough for me to raise any official complaints, and even if I did they'd just say that they never told me I was going to get the job or that somehow it was a misunderstanding), I became the 2nd (or lower... Who knows) choice for the job. Fine, thank you, I belong in the lab anyway. My supervisor assured me that if I didn't apply for the position when it was posted that there would be no love lost between me and my superiors and tha there were several other opportunities coming up on the horizon. Well, I didn't go for it and apparently now I look lazy partially because of it and so I still shot myself in the foot, so to speak. I didn't go for a job that I could've had because I didn't want it and instead decided to work VERY hard at a job that I normally like a lot in hopes of getting promoted in that arena and now, in spite of my busting my ass, I'm lazy. I love it. I love being one of the hardest working people in my department and having it not matter in the least. I love busting my ass and then losing the promotions to the people who truly do sit and play around and socialize and party all shift long. I love it all, and I'm starting to think I might love it all working in a different department for different supervisors. I'm starting to think that they wouldn't even care in the least that I'm thinking that way. I work hard and take pride in that, and I'd be good at whatever I decide to do, wherever I end up.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com