new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Abysmal Rut
2006-07-29, 5:41 p.m.

Maybe I can finish the thought that I started in the last entry now. There are, indeed a handful of places where I could look for a job around here (and by "around here" I basically mean within an hour's drive or a feasible relocation area). L'oreal is one. Bonnie Bell has a department that suits me. Smuckers, Lay's... And most recently realized is Nestle. Seeing as how my dream job in my field (on the industrial side, at least) would be to work for Ben and Jerry's in Vermont, Nestle is by far the closest to that which is available to me.

It seems like there isn't a week that goes by anymore when I don't have some sort of revelation about how not-respected and unappreciated I am, both personally and professionally, by my supervisors and/or manager. It makes me mad. It makes me sad, and truly it just makes me sick that these people have the power and the way things are going, I never will. Literally, I have been given some reason to dispair, career-wise, in my department every week for at least the past 3 weeks. It's become a downward spiral that just keeps sinking deeper and deeper into the abyss of professional bitterness. This time last year... Well no... maybe about 18 months ago, I was being groomed for the next step, whatever that was going to be. There was a promotion in my future, in some form.

Now? Now it's like my coveted promotion is the Golden Snitch in the Quiddich game and I've been demoted to Beater--being told that it's none of my business anymore... Go hit something.

And me, like everyone else in my department who is realizing that they have no future, we're all making excuses for not leaving. Most of us are waiting for that one last big training opportunity on the horizon so that we'll have one more big thing to put on our new resumes under "Skills." Some of us are scared that the next thing will be even worse than how things are now. Me, I'm just holding out that one futile hope that someone, just one person who matters, still sees the work I do and appreciates my dedication... What's left of it. Once again, I'm back in a situation that falls under the old cliche: "The beatings will continue until morale improves." Why do they do that?

God-willing, in 16-17 months Jeff will finish school and our lives will change. Hopefully better (not that things are bad now, just my job), at the very least I hope nothing gets worse, or more complicated. Whatever it is, it'll just be different.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com