new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

JDK
2011-01-11, 10:56 a.m.

"Mind-numbingly average"

I hope that that combination of words is never used to describe me, in appearance or in general. Though I have a penchant for being the one that no one ever saw coming--for seeming to be mostly average and mundane and then ending up as the biggest surprise in the room--I'd still like to think that there is some glimmer of potential that shines through before the big reveal.

Someone who I went to high school with has come up in conversation recently, well... Again. She'd always had quite a reputation, and it was recently said that well, the pretty bird gets the worms, so to speak. She, for the most part, always was and so she does.

Aah the glory of Facebook...

I was flipping through some pictures that were recently posted thinking, "this is it? I mean, she looks like she always has--similar to other recent pictures, I guess--but really?" I'm seriously considering revising my earlier statement to "The willing bird gets the worms," which is not necessarily a compliment the way the other statement was. I decided to call in a subject matter expert. Minion-Ted never sugar-coats anything and is very quick to state where he feels someone would rank on a 1 - 10 scale. I count on his shallowness to reaffirm my own when it flares up. He also has pretty good taste, so even though "beauty is in the eye of the beholder" he makes a point to be well-versed enough so that his opinions have some merit.

His official assessment: "Nothing special there. Mind-numbingly average, actually."

I may never catch as many worms as the willing-bird (nor have to have the many courses of antibiotics that come from the vermin you contract by laying with so many worms--jussayin'), but I never, never want to be "mind-numbingly average." I've got to hang onto that little spark of intrigue. I hope that I can keep people saying, "What the fuck was that?!? Wait, come back here." when I walk away for the rest of my life. I can trade that for being the one where people just say, "What a fuck that was! Done. Walk away." at any isolated point in my life.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com