new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

The Elevator
2011-01-13, 2:40 p.m.


re�la�tion�ship
   /rɪˈleɪʃənˌʃɪp/ Show Spelled[ri-ley-shuhn-ship] �noun
1. a connection, association, or involvement.
2. connection between persons by blood or marriage.
3. an emotional or other connection between people: the relationship between teachers and students.
4. a sexual involvement; affair.

There has been some discussion lately over what constitutes a "relationship." I don't approve of the dictionary definition--it's a no-brainer catch-all that goes to say, "if you are acquainted, you are in some kind of relationship." Well, yeah... Of course. That's not the issue.

I've also been thinking about the old elevator analogy of relationships that Nikki and I came up with back in June. I never defined it here, but the applicable part is that "the elevator only goes up. It can't go back down unless you cut the cables and send the elevator plummeting through the floor into the basement." I think I have proved that wrong in the past 6 months. Well, mostly... Essentially, what you need to know is that your "relationship elevator" will take you up to higher floors, indicating a deeper level of connection or maybe even higher level of commitment between the people in the elevator. Up is the easy part. Down takes some elbow-grease and a strong stomach.

Six months ago, I was in an elevator that shot quickly straight to the 5th or 6th floor of this high-rise resort hotel we call "relationships." I had a bellhop holding an elevator in the other shaft near the penthouse level. My 6th floor elevator has been slowly descending for the past 5-ish months. I agreed to settle in on the 3rd floor--which is a spot that's totally comfortable for me. I have been standing idly though, however, for at least the last 2-3 months while buttons are pushed when I look away that drop us to even lower floors. I find myself now firmly planted on the ground floor--a place I didn't think I wanted to be with anyone, and it feels like a vastly cheaper deal considering I've seen what the 6th floor looks like.

Would've been different if we would've just agreed to never leave the ground floor to begin with. Remember a time, about 7 months ago, when I titled an entry "The elevator's full?" *sigh*

Meanwhile there are rats chewing the cables of my other elevator.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com