new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Blissless awareness
2011-03-29, 11:13 a.m.

I was having a conversation with one of my techs/friends yesterday at work about an ongoing argument she's having with her new(-ish) boyfriend. Her words echoed some things that have been in my head for months. The details of their disagreement aren't important--just maybe their basic history. She had been in a semi-serious LTR with a live-in boyfriend when she started working with us. Her current boyfriend (now--present day) showed interest and eventually got the girl.

Anyway... Her words yesterday: "No, I may not have been happy with [ex-boyfriend], but I could've gone on like that--blissfully ignorant--forever. Why would [he-new boyfriend] pull me out of that just to do this to me?"

...and this is the question/line of thinking with which one may torture herself. Happiness... Funny how that works--there are many different shades, and I guess you never know how dull or washed out the one you're in has become till you catch a glimpse of a shade that seems to be more vivid or brilliant. It's really hard to go back to the dull bits when you've seen what seems to be the greener grass on the other side of the fence.

Now? Now I have no green grass. I have no dull, lackluster foliage either. I have winter--and I assembled the artificial-snow-making machine myself.

I could have gone on like that in the quasi-blissful ignorance for quite a while--maybe not forever--but a long time. Sometimes there's a reason that conventional things do indeed follow the set conventions.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com