new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Lawn Mower Woman
2010-09-05, 2:39 p.m.

I need a riding lawnmower... Bad. The self-propel function on our push-mower is pathetic, at best, and as cutting the grass is another one of those items on my husbands list of things that can be done at any time (meaning later, usually), the grass can be pretty high. Not to mention that the mulching ability of the mower can't keep up when the grass is long, so the clippings challenge the mower even more (self-propelled and mulching--once upon a time and with the proper use, it really was an awesome machine, for what it is). I just kept thinking to myself "good exercise, good exercise..." as I struggled with the thing to try to finish off the back portion of the yard where Jeff left off last night because the mower had had enough. I only got through about half of that because the mower was again, at capacity. Good exercise or not, there's no point when you can only mow 5 - 10 feet before the thing shuts down.

I am morally opposed to being proactive about cutting the lawn and doing it myself weekly when Jeff doesn't get to it, because then it will become "my" chore. That leads nicely into something else I've been thinking... I may have written this here before, so feel free to skip ahead if this sounds familiar. I glimpse the prospect of being happy, at least "happy enough," if I give in and quit my job if/when the restaurant gets stabilized. I'm still wondering/anxious/afraid that it would cause me to lose some of the strong personality traits that I have developed and polished since I've been in management, but to a point I think they would almost be vestigial anyway so they'd get in the way more than anything. I'm not, of course, saying this is at all ideal... Just functional. As it is now, I work and then I split my home time between taking care of the kids/housework, sleep and the attempted revival of random assorted hobbies to keep me sane and feeling like "me." Some days it feels like all of my at-home time goes to chores. I'd like to think that if the housework was my "job" then I could use more of the time that makes up the difference on "me" stuff. For instance, right now there's a heap of laundry to sort and put away... I also have 10 more postcards to make out for a swap that I signed up for (send 20 postcards from your state out to 20 swap-partners, each from another state. In turn, I will receive 20 postcards, each from a different state). Besides that I have a Bird ATC to draw and I have not yet found my muse on that. I could also stand to vacuum, sort through the kids clothes (and Jeff's and mine) looking for things to send to Goodwill, shred old junk mail, etc...

Enough... Mom's here.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com