new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Late, late night ramblings
2010-10-08, 2:43 a.m.

Hmm... So sleepy. I have no business writing an entry now, really. I left work late as I wanted to finish up some things that I hadn't been focusing on for a good several hours during my shift. And the combination of working late making me sleepy, working late meaning there are even fewer cars on the road than usual, working late meaning I'm more eager to get home and to sleep, listening to the radio and mental pre-occupation with reviewing the aforementioned distraction from earlier in the night meant that I was driving eh, a slight shade over the speed limit as I was coming within a mile of my house (seriously, I was significantly over the speed limit for most of my drive--but that can be our secret. I've turned what used to be a 35 minute drive into about a 28 minute drive. I think I would've been at about 25-26 minutes getting home tonight without my delay). So I had my first experience with being pulled over tonight after almost exactly 9.5 years of driving. No ticket, just a warning and sent me on my way. It was enough to spike my adrenaline though, so I thought better of going straight ot bed upon coming home. I think it may be time now.

One of my ex-minions posed a question to the group and me a while back which I think about from time to time. He's 9 years old than me, a naturalized US citizen, single, and another of us who would describe himself as "more spiritual than religious." Him joining our group added a new dynamic to our abstract conversations about politics, religion, life, the universe and everything. His question on that night to myself and the other ladies was, "When did you go through your 'bad boy' phase?" I guess, assuming that since we were married, that the time had come and gone and was in the past. I didn't have an answer; he thought I was evading the question.

I don't know about a "bad boy phase," as they call it, but I can say that I often look at people who catch my interest or whose interest I have caught and think, "It makes no sense that..." whatever random reference to the situation at hand. My mind says, "I've seen what you like and I am very far from anything that history suggests is compatible with you." *shrugs* I told John once that one of the factors making an illicit situation with my friend, Brandon, impossible is that he'd get bored with me quickly. There's no point in starting something if that's already the known outcome. Anyway, that comment was based around that idea. "I know what you like, and I'm not that thing. I'm not sure what you want from me, but whatever it is isn't meant to mean anything." Brandon is just an example, but not an isolated case.

I'm so tired; please make the rambling stop.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com