new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Wait... What?
2010-10-12, 12:20 a.m.

My stepmom did what she does earlier today and assumed about something she didn't know and then proceeded to promptly speak without applying a filter. She called to see how the kids were feeling and noted where I had posted on Facebook something about my plans changing for my days off. I thought that the post conveyed that I was just fine with the change of plans. I'm totally great with it. I love being here at home with the kids and doing the things that are on my list of priorities at my own pace. I'm not sure that that statement makes sense, but even still... It's fine; it's good. Today is more-or-less a "win," or as close as I will get to one.

So Stepmom calls up, asks her questions and is somehow completely confused at how and why things came to be the way they did today. This, of course, totally confused me because I'm under the impression that things worked out great and she seems to think that it was at least partly the product of a blunder or communication breakdown on my part. And as does tend to happen, because it took me several moments to catch up to what was really happening and being said, I didn't react the way I would've wanted to. I do believe I'll get a chance to make it up, because I'm sure the topic will come back around.

"Well Heather, if you would just open your mouth and communicate, we could've taken the kids or something..."

Umm... The only reason I was even going to go was so that the kids could have fun up there, so me dumping off sick kids with grandparents so that I could go be alone in a water park whilst my husband tended to work/business needs... That sounds positively... Umm... AWFUL!!!

What have I done instead? Whatever I wanted. I exercised, took care of the kids, cooked dinner, cleaned the microwave, knitted quite a bit, chatted some, went shopping, cleaned the kitchen, changed the litter boxes, took out all the trash... I'm sure that all sounds fairly mundane, but some of it was really nice to just know was DONE! I think I would be quite a neat-freak if I just had the time to comfortably do everything I'd like to be done--but I've talked about the splitting of my time before between the things I HAVE to do and the things I WANT to do. The one really big, big thing that's left is sorting out the kids clothes for Goodwill donation. That's kind of a project and a fairly tedious venture--a job that never ends at this stage since they have kept growing the way that small children seem to always do.

Whatever... The one thing that reminds me that I would probably make a horrid homemaker--or at least a miserable one--is the isolation. Same thing on the weekends when I'm home with the kids... There's something exquisitely depressing about knowing that everyone I know has something better to be doing and here I sit tapping the keyboard. Yes, yes... I do realize that I was just asking for solitude several entries back... This is different. It just is...



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com