new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

The only exception...
2011-12-18, 6:31 p.m.

Jeff asked me what I wanted for Christmas a week or two ago and then jokingly answered himself by saying, "besides a new job and a new husband..."

If I were to write such a list, it would look more like "a new shift and a divorce," but that's par for the course on how well he knows me these days. We're generally in the same city, albeit different suburbs of that fictional city, but no where near the same ballpark. I hope that analogy makes some sense.

At work, we're in the sizzle phase of what (hopefully) will ultimately turn out to be the burning death of the phoenix (what's with all the metaphors tonight? Sheez...). Otherwise it'll just be a burning death.

Domestically, I'm not sure there's any time when I wish for the earth to open up and swallow my darling husband than during a gift-giving event. He won't talk to me, strikes out on his own to buy the kids' gifts and either gets something that I didn't think they should have or something that they could give two shits about (him, not really knowing them anymore either). The former set of gifts would be fairly normal if we were happy together or otherwise just straight-up divorced. In the current state of things though... Blah.

Honestly... Really, really honestly... I'm 100% happy with my life as a mother. I think I'd be at least 90% happy with my life if I were a truly single mother. My job sucks right now, but I believe it will get better--one way or another--and I truly believe we do important work, so that helps. The only thing that drags me down is my marriage. ...or the male human that currently occupies the status of my spouse.

Otherwise... I'm really happy.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com