new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

7 is my lucky number
2005-06-08, 12:15 p.m.

Well, here's the good news... I haven't given birth in the middle of a Wal-Mart or at home alone while my husband was in Indiana or in the middle of the office at work. Here's the bad news: Not only have I not given birth, but I'm still just as confused as to what is going on in my body as I've been all week long.
Again, to do things "by the book" I probably should have called the doctor's office already or maybe even made a trip over to the hospital (where they would have inevitably sent me home) just to get checked out. The girls at work definitely think I should be calling the doctor based on the pattern and frequency of my contractions. I think they're going to yell at me tonight when I show up to work and tell them I haven't gotten checked out. Here's how I feel: I feel like maybe something is moving along, possibly it is... Maybe even probably it is. Perhaps my contractions are starting to get down to business on a very basic and beginning level; however, I feel like this could go on for DAYS or maybe even WEEKS. I feel like unless I go to the doctor and she says "Yes, this is the very beginning (for the last 5 days) of the real deal, so let's send you over the the hospital and get some Pitocin in you to move things along." ...Unless that happens, nothing is happening anytime soon. I feel like I'm going to be timing my contractions at 7 minutes apart until at least Father's Day.
Seven minutes apart, that's what they ALWAYS are whenever I do sit down and record the times. Once in a while I get a wimpy one around 5 minutes, but largely, 7 minutes almost to the second sometimes. Shellee (from work) swears that my body won't hold out much longer at that rate. With her first, her doctor sent her to the hospital when they were 10 minutes apart even though they still felt like Braxton-Hicks. To hear her tell her story, you'd think she would've went on for days too if they hadn't eventually given her Pitocin to speed it up. 20 hours for her son to be born and she didn't get the epidural, just simply for lack of pain, until about 4 hours before the end.
I figure, I see the doctor tomorrow anyway. I'll tell her my situation with these contractions and if she wasn't planning to do the old cervix check (I'll be 36 weeks, 4 days--so I thought maybe she would anyway), then maybe she will. God-willing, it will be starting to soften or maybe even dialate and then... for real... We can get this show on the road and deliver a reasonably-sized baby the natural way.
Raspberry tea... Bottoms up!



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com