new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Cancer deaths, memories and bitterness
2010-10-16, 9:19 p.m.

*sniffles* Still fighting the little cold that Jack brought home from preschool approximately 10 days ago. I've had it for less than a week. I had hoped to get several things done today, but have just not felt up for it. I don't think it helped much that I had to fast for bloodwork (annual physical through work) right as my cold was starting to stabilize and I probably could've wiped it out at that point. As it is, I don't feel like I ever regained my energy from the fast.

Weekends are weird for me right now. For a while I was enjoying the quiet to get stuff done, but the novelty of that is wearing off. Now I just feel like a hermit.

A very good friend of mine from work (some of you may know her as "Heels") has had a rough couple of years. Shortly after my brother died, I was in an unexpected spot to offer her sympathy because her father was diagnosed with an advanced form of cancer. Like TJ, he was within days of death when it was caught and then given approximately 2 more years with chemo and whatever other treatments. Anyway, in the meantime--about a year or so ago (maybe less)--her mother died of terminal breast cancer. She never got treatment because when she found the lump, she never went to the doctor. It wasn't until she was experiencing shortness of breath that she even told anyone. By that time, it was far past too late. She died less than 2 weeks after the initial shortness of breath. About a month or so ago, her father passed away as well. She is the oldest of six children, ranging in ages from 17 - 31.

So that's the background of her story. Yesterday, I got an email reply from her after I asked her several days previously how her family is doing. She's had a falling out with her middle-younger sister, who is the executor of the trust for their family's home and hasn't spoken to any of her four youngest siblings for a few weeks as a result of this. The part that grabbed me and stuck was where she'd said, "I'm afraid she's turning into my mom. All the secrets... All the lies..." It makes me wonder what impression my children will have of me someday. I guess it all depends on what view they have of the entire family and how things even play out over the years that come between now and them reaching some level of awareness about the world.

I have laundry to do.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com