new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Red Robin Girl's Night Out
2011-01-16, 9:43 a.m.

Two days of no entries... For shame. It's a good thing I didn't commit to any New Year's resolutions then, right?

As a side note, I am apparently too stupid to type today. It took great effort to get the previous sentence into this little entry field. Mornings don't agree with me...

Went out with "the girls" last night, and by "the girls" I mean 5 other people who, in the main, I haven't spoken to or laid eyes on in over a decade. Holy Hell, I'm getting old. Anyway, it was a, er, cute time. Everyone talked about their kids and randomly assorted family situations--that was kind of fun from a "file this under trivia associated with this person" point of view. Hmm... Put it this way, because I've been having a hard time putting my finger on just why I was so bored last night: the single-serving experience was fun, to an extent; however, I never had a "eureka" moment where I felt like, "Ah, I feel (re)connected to this person/these people!!" I laughed and engaged in conversation, as appropriate; I also found myself though staring at random trinkets and the silent football games playing on the overhead monitors (for which I could care less), totally distracted and just really, really bored.

Can't really say that I'd never connect to anyone of them--maybe a few single-serving non-adventures down the road we could find some common ground somewhere and become, or re-become, friends at some point. All I really know is that beyond this entry, and any time in the next day or two I recount to someone how I spent my weekend, I won't be thinking of most of them again (until the next outing, should there be one). Likewise, I don't expect any of them to be thinking of me.

This outing, just like a certain person who was in attendance, was "mind-numbingly average."



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com