new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood: Enraged
Watching:
Reading:

More SIL, always more...
2007-05-21, 7:03 a.m.

And it just keeps on going...

More about the in-laws. I guess Jeff was accosted when walking through the door of his parent's place yesterday by the oldest niece. It started off by her wanting us to get her a digital camera for her birthday in July. Somehow from there, it snowballed into how my SIL has recommended her for the "mentally retarded" classes as she goes into high school next year (I expect she means something like "learning disabled" or "remedial" which I don't expect to be the same thing). I guess I don't know what that means and while I do think that she needs something, how she got "mentally retarded classes" into her head as the descriptor and what she's been told troubles me. In her opinion, she's doing great in school because she only has 3 F's right now. It's just another example of how they've never been taught any responsibility. The youngest niece isn't doing well either, though that hasn't hit the fan yet.

I can't even guess when my SIL has offered any sort of guidance, scholastically or emotionally towards my oldest niece. She (SIL) said something to Jeff and I once about any time she tries to do anything nice for her oldest daughter she ends up getting kicked in the teeth. Boo-fucking-hoo. You are her mother, you have obligations. You brought her into this extremely screwed up situation, screwed her up even further, completely obliterated any chance at normal mental or emotional development and are leaving her to fend for herself. I honestly can't remember the last time I witnessed a civil exchange between them. She's not even 15 yet... She acts like she's about 8. She's got some problems.

All the while my SIL is oblivious. Oldest niece's problems are all her own fault and not a reflection on SIL at all. You know, maybe if she were 20, that'd be true. Jeff was also told that SIL tells her oldest all the time that she is "just like her father." I'm not sure what exactly that's supposed to accomplish seeing as how she's never known her father. Anyway, it's meant to be a put-down and my niece at least knows that much. She's also been told that she is to blame for her mother dropping out of college and that there's no point in her trying to go to college herself because there's no way they can pay for it.

I'm just sickened by it all. She's given her daughter absolutely no real-world skills, taughter her no responsibility and given her no kind of tools for coping with adult life. What the hell does she expect the girl to do with herself once she's on her own??? She is going to be 18 in only 3+ more years. God-willing, this time in 4 years we'll be getting ready to go to her high school graduation. And then what? Honestly, I'm frightened for her. She's no where near where she should be and there's no reason to think that will change.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com