new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

It's just something about us
2007-01-16, 9:14 a.m.

I've come to realize something about my family recently. I don't know what it is about us, but bad things just tend to happen to us. No, wait... Hear me out...

Of course, I don't know the inner workings of other peoples' families, but it does seem to me that more bad things happen to us than most. By "bad" I mean things that are not necessarily self-inflicted. There are people out there who do have really crappy lives, I know. A lot of these people that I've known, at least, played an instrumental role in their own decay. I'm not comparing us to that. Even when we do mis-step and get ourselves into a bit of a tough spot. I believe too that, at least a few times, the punishment was disproportunate to the severity of the crime. That's just us, and I think we're all getting used to it now. That's why I was so dazzled at the wonderful 2 1/2 years of peace that ended about a year ago. 2006 was eh, not great... Just okay. If anything it was the year of my son. He's been the light of all of our lives. 2007 will be a challenge.

So anyway, bad things happen to us, but we always come out of it more or less in one piece in the end. We all have our scars, and they will be joined by others, but we are a better family because of it, I think. These challenges that we face have never been meant to bring us down or take us out, in retrospect, no matter how grave they seemed at the time. The have, however, always seemed to serve their purposes. Maybe we're too stubborn, as a family, and refuse to learn things the easy way. When these things happen, it's always been to teach us something or to change the direction that we were heading in our lives. I have my theories about this time. I'll look back on it later when things right themselves and decide if I was right.

It's always a hard road, but we always make it out, somehow. Knowing that, though, doesn't make standing at the beginning of it much easier.

I think I've decided that I'm going to be needing a private folder. I'll be springing for another gold membership soon so I'll let you all know when it comes time for password information.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com