new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Shower over, moving on
2005-05-23, 10:53 a.m.

All we need now is the baby. Well... almost.
Yesterday was our baby shower, and I'm somewhat surprised to say that it turned out pretty well. I had a good turn out from my friends (mostly the girls I currently work with). Not so many of the family showed up, which I was somewhat surprised about since these things seem to be the only time the family sees eachother anymore. Then again, I'm mainly talking about extended family such as second cousins and great-aunts and whatnot, so it isn't so much like I'd expect them to be very interested. At any rate, if we'd had anymore people show up, we'd have to have had a bigger room.
Things went about as I expected with the nieces being there. And much better, I suppose than any worse case scenario I could have dreamed up. I was worried that Honey would have to disappear in order to take them away when they got too bored--that didn't happen very much, a little toward the beginning and a little toward the end, but he was there for the important parts. I was also worried that they'd end up in the apartment, which they did. This was an incident that also included the Chinchilla getting out of her cage and having to be chased around. Poor little thing, I'm amazed she didn't have a furball heart attack. I was worried that they'd terrorize the other guests, which didn't happen too much. Shawnee has a fixation with babies, so she designated herself babysitter for the two that were there. For the one, I think it was okay because it gave Jackie time to mingle and not worry where Robert was. For the other, well, I don't know whether Dawn (co-worker) minded or not, because I didn't see Shawnee with her son (Honey told me afterward), but I would've been uneasy. I think there are going to be huge problems in this department once Jack comes. And finally, I told Jeff ahead of time that I didn't want the kids to touch any of our cameras (I brought down the digital and our 35mm). It isn't so much that I don't trust the older two separately with that sort of thing in short increments of time, it's that when one gets a hold of something such as a camera, the others naturally assume that it is now a toy that they all will get their turn on. Sure enough, Melina put it down and 10 seconds later Cheyenne is reaching across me without even asking saying she wants to take some pictures. Yay for Auntie Heather not having a problem with just saying "no."
So yeah, those were my big concerns: Poor turn out and niece behavior. Both, for the most part, went unrealized, so I'm grateful there. My Aunt/Mom/Grandma/Cousins did a wonderful job with the shower. I haven't loaded the pictures in yet, but I'll post a couple when I do. Honey and I have a bit of "Christmas Morning Syndrome" in that we've been periodically checking the registry, so we knew some of what was coming. The big surprise gift that came that didn't get taken off the registry was the Fisher-Price Ocean Wonders line high chair from my Gramma and Aunt. I figured we'd end up buying that ourselves or settling for something a little cheaper and less flashy later since we won't need it right off. I think we got all of the Ocean Wonders items that we registered for (except for the bouncy seat, but we got 2 of the "kick & crawl" toys, so I think we'll be exchanging for the bouncer soon.) We've got enough "onesies" now to dress about 3 babies. We didn't get very many diapers, which I was a little surprised about, but I think we're okay to start. I think we've got about 350 of them now. The only other thing besides the basics that you can't have too many of that we don't have that I really need/want is the breast pump. So we'll be needing to go out for that too.
Yesterday was a nice day.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com