new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

A whole lot of blah
2006-12-14, 9:41 p.m.

I think I might have a touch of the holiday blues... Or PMS... Either way, I expect it to stick around until at least Christmas. From the Christmas standpoint, I'm really just emotionally exhausted. I'm not completely finished with my shopping yet, but ignoring that, I am soooo ready for Christmas to be here. I've just been so exited about it and anticipating it so much (mainly for Jack), that I'm burned out a little. If I'm smart (and I promise I won't be), I'll just totally ignore everything about Christmas until about 2 weeks beforehand next year. That way, at about the time my excitement crests, it'll be here.

From the PMS standpoint, and this has not so much to do with my actual mood, I've discovered I have a new symptom since my pregnancy... It's amazing the after effects that being pregnant will have on the body. I now have really, really strong sweets cravings for about the last 10 days of my cycle. Even if I'm perfectly disciplined for the rest of the month, 10 days is a long time to fall off the wagon. These past couple of months have been devastating to my overall discipline and it's starting to show on the scale. Right now I'm about to chew my own arm off, between my sugar craving and just plain being hungry (I'm trying to re-institute the "don't snack after dinner" plan). I'm still at about my "pre-pregnancy" weight, where I had gotten below it up until this month (remember, that number included muscle mass to begin with--now it doesn't, so I feel frumpier in general). I don't have a lot of hope for December, due to all of the Christmas goodies hanging around, but I am officially declaring January, "Willpower Month."

In the midst of this attempt at goodwill toward my SIL, I decided to go to her MySpace profile and actually read the prologue that she has posted to the supposed novel that she's working on now. I've mentioned it before, I believe. Apparently it's done... She's just revising and editing now. She had part of Chapter 1 up before, when I first found her profile. It was, eh, okay. Just okay... I was slightly interested in reading more, but no where near the edge of my seat. After having read the prologue though, I've come to a new conclusion.

It's bad and I was right.

She obviously has no perspective on her setting (inner city and gang activity). Her claim is that the story isn't about the gang itself, but rather the girl/gang leader/main character. It doesn't matter. It's not very well written. I mean, it's not poorly written. It's just very average. The story is average, so far, as is the writing style and word choice. She's writing it as she'd speak it. I can hear the words coming out of her mouth. It's not written as though it's literature. It's written like someone who was once a criminal justice major. It's not written like someone who'd understand or relate to a street gang. It's just okay, and I AM disappointed. I really hoped that it would be great.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com