new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Blame, blame, blame
2005-08-31, 11:46 p.m.

Blame, blame, blame...
I was just at my usual game site having my nightly fix of brain-sucking internet games and all the chat people could talk about (at first anyway) was the price of gas. And of course, you have your resident bleeding-heart liberals... "Blame Bush, Blame Bush, Blame Bush..."

Blah, Blah, Blah...

One was even so stupid as to continually spell it "Buch," though I don't know if he/she was doing it on purpose or not. How do you respect someone's very disrespectfully stated and unsupported opinion when they can't even spell a name as simple as "Bush," for chrissakes? Of course the media and whatnot all say it was because of the hurricaine and the offshore platforms being put out of commission. According to local news personalities, the platforms weren't even damaged in the storm (somehow... I guess since Katrina decided to flatten everything else, she had to spare something). But then again, I'm sure they still had to be shut down and that is the excuse for the price hike. Here, I'm told (since I don't get out much these days) that it's over $3/gallon, and that's even before the Labor Day Weekend increase. That's amazing. I understand that we live in a very different world now than we did 20 years ago, but I have a hard time understanding why it has affected the price of gas quite this much over such a short period of time. All the way through my childhood right up until I got my driver's liscense over 4 years ago (I was a late bloomer for that), I can remember my parents complaining that the price of gas was OUTRAGEOUS if it went above $1.20. For my whole life it was like that... 22 years worth of it at least. Now in the past 4 years $1.20 seems like a fairy tale. In my first year of driving, I swear I actually paid $0.88/gallon once and a good portion of my first 6 months, I know it was under a dollar, even. Even after 9/11 and the initial price gauging went away, I know it went back down to the one-dollar range for a considerable period of time. I just find it to be incredible, that's all.
Well, anyway... As the coversation in the game room turned more and more ugly and political, someone pointed out that the hurricaine cause other consequences that are much more dire than a gas price hike, regardless of how unbelievable it might be. I'm sure that the people who stayed behind in Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama and Florida consider the price of gas to be near the bottom half of their list of current worries and problems... Not to mention those that fled the areas, but have nothing to go back home to.
Someday the platforms will be operational again... And even someday the War on Terror will be under control... And for those who continue to have tunnel vision and exclusively blame the President for each and every little (and big) thing that happens on this planet, well, for you people someday he won't be the President anymore... God help us all, someday another Democrat is likely to get elected again. Someday all of those things will be changed. The lives/homes/property/history and everything else that was lost in the South as a result of this disaster... That is forever. The water will recede, buildings may be rebuilt, survivors will buy new homes, but the losses won't go away.
Do we really need to be pointing fingers and assigning imaginary blame right now for things that don't really matter?



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com