new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

2nd shift to 1st shift: Piss off!
2005-04-06, 1:41 a.m.

Now, I have a hard time believing that things are really that busy at 1:30 in the morning...
So today was kind of a bad day at work. It's amazing how little work and how poorly done work the people in my department get away with doing nowadays. We'd never have gotten away with some of the shortcut, fudging and outright cheating that goes on now. It's probably actually criminal, some of the things they do.
Now, me, I have probably the best supervisor in the department. She's been with the company quite a while and she's pretty old-school in her expectations, at least in comparison with the rest of our management. Even still, I'm not without my gripes. A couple of months ago, there was some buzz around the busy-bodies I work with that I need to have more work to do. I apparently don't keep myself busy enough for some. Luckily, my supervisor didn't put any weight on these accusations, so I'm good. However, since then my desk has become like the city dump for busy work. For instance, tonight she (supervisor) gave me several extra things to do, on top of my scheduled work and oh, by the way, if you have any free time how about putting away some of the supplies that came in? Right, so there are 13 boxes in the hallway of testing supplies. These boxes are about 4' x 2' x 1' and hold smaller boxes of supplies to be stacked up in various areas. This task requires ripping into boxes, tearing them down, finding a cart, stacking boxes on the cart, then sorting and stacking these boxes in the storage areas. In what world does it make sense to ask the 7-month-pregnant lady to do this while first shift is full of perfectly able-bodied, non-working, lazy jackasses? Not that I ask for or expect any special treatment, but darn-it-all, I have enough stuff to do and it just doesn't make any damn sense to ask me first to do that sort of project. As it was, my other busy work kept me going until only about 20 minutes before quitting time, so looks like the first-shifters are going to have to get off their asses tomorrow. That's just a for-instance.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com