new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood: Anxious
Watching: The Queen
Reading:

New Worries
2007-11-19, 9:45 a.m.

I believe I've been away for a while.

I also believe I've never posted the belly pics, or the fall pics, or the Halloween pics that I promised. Sorry for that. I probably won't be posting them today either. Sorry again. Moving on...

I've come to realize that I am worried about money. More than a little... Nearing anxiety-attack levels of worry. I'm starting to realize that the dream-scenario of Jeff taking a year out of work after he graduates is probably not going to be possible. Even if I get the elusive promotion that I've been chasing for 3 1/2 months (which I had, then I lost, then I might have again and now might be going for review to the personnel committee at work even as I type--My director/acting-manager is giving me her recommendation and trying to make a "argument" against some of the other interviewers' comments that they were based in a situation that no longer exists (i.e., where my managment skills are underdeveloped that I wouldn't have gotten the proper mentoring from my ex-manager, who is now unemloyed). We'll see what happens... Whatever). Anyway, even if I get that promotion, it will help, but I don't know if it will take us through a whole year on a single income. Without the promotion, there's just no way. If everything was going to stay the same in 2008 as it has been in 2007, with the possible exception of the arrival of the new baby, because I've already factored that in, then maybe things would balance out--at least for half the year.

However, in 2008 I know I am looking at certain added expenses. #1: Rent will go up at the end of January. #2: My medical insurance will be going up--both what comes out of my paycheck and what I pay in co-pays--at the beginning of January. #3: My car needs new brakes and maybe a new transmission. #4: Jeff's school loan will be expecting payments starting around June. Those are all the big ones that I can think of off the top of my head. I also owe money to the chiropractor from last fall and Children's Hospital for Jackson's last bout of croup. And my Christmas shopping isn't quite done yet; Jack's big gift (toddler bed/mattress/sheets) still remains among maybe a few small things.

Honestly, the more I think about this promotion at work, the more I think it might just not even be worth the trouble. All it's really done so far is cause me stress and screw up what would've been a pretty well laid-out plan. I was going to go on days--maybe an extra early shift like starting between 4-6 AM when I came back from maternity leave and Jeff would be free to work evenings. If the promotion goes through, I'll continue to work nights, indefinitely, and Jeff will be stuck trying to find something during the day, of which opportunities are not as plentiful in his field. I've felt really bad about this for quite a while. Perhaps this sudden realization of mine will actually be a blessing. Maybe it will straighten out a situation that would've otherwise held our family back. I'm not sure, I just know we need a new plan.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com