new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Double standard
2005-10-01, 1:32 a.m.

Another week bites the dust.

Jack is 3 months old today (Err, well, yesterday, I guess... As of about an hour and a half ago). I've said it before, and I'll say it again: this child is amazing. Everyday, it seems like, he learns a new trick or gets a little stronger. Today he lifted his head and chest completely off the ground for the first time. He seemed to like it because he just stayed in that position and looked around. That'll be a neat trick for him to show off next weekend when we go to have our pictures done.

Hopefully my maternity leave issues will be ironed out my Monday. I got the call from the doctor's office today saying that the second attempt at writing a letter was ready. Knowing this doctor, I don't think I'd be able to get him to word it any more strongly, so if they don't accept this then I guess I'll have to give up. They faxed the letter over to my HR people, but the lady I've been fighting with on this wasn't in today, so nothing will come of it until Monday at the earliest. I'm trying not to be too optimistic; I'm giving it a 60/40 chance in my favor at this point.

I was looking over some pics that one of my cousins posted recently in her online album. They were fine, but it made me think of something. Now, first let me just say, yes, I was in the marching band in high school. In fact, I was the second-highest ranking dork during my senior year (Vice President of the band). That said, let it just be a given that both cheerleaders and football players are pretty much the antichrist as far as my inner-band-geek is concerned. So anyway, of my three cousins on that side, one was a high school football player, one is a varsity cheerleader and the youngest one gave up cheerleading to be a basketball star. I am sad to say, I don't have much in common with any of them, obviously. Anyway, as I'm looking at the pictures I decided that if Jack grows up into a strapping, young, linebacker-type, then so-be-it (though, he will still be in the band if I have anything to say about it). Football players usually are mama's boys underneath anyway (hey, you've got to be awfully nice to the woman who washes your smelly, muddy, nasty clothes, right?). I just really hope that I don't end up having a daughter who wants to be a cheerleader. Let's face it, the only people most cheerleaders are "nice" to is other cheerleaders and the jocks. I don't know, I'm just looking at the pictures and seeing the same plastic smiles plastered across all of their faces. Of course, I guess that is something that just goes with being in high school, in general.

And speaking of teenagers, we saw the nieces and my sister-in-law last weekend when we went to visit Jeff's parents. I'll go into that later; I need to go to bed now.

Yay for me--my birthday was yesterday (technically 2 days ago now).



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com