new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Dreaming of tornadoes and rocks
2010-07-20, 2:20 p.m.

Yesterday as I realized how late it was and that I frantically needed to rush around and get myself together for work (a scene that promises to be repeated today in about 30 minutes), I looked briefly out the window and saw dark clouds. A brief thought crossed into my head, wondering if I was having a quick deja-vu moment from dreams I had just had while sleeping in WAY too long... Had I dreamed of storms or lightning?

Oh. My. God...

I had had a tornado dream yesterday morning. As I never get to wake up naturally, I don't remember nearly as many of my dreams as I would like or as many as I used to. I had forgotten my dream and some parts of it are still hazy. If I've never mentioned in a blog before, then I know I've said it recently in several notes to Nikki about a dream she'd had recently. I used to dream about tornadoes regularly as a teenager and young adult. Mostly when I was living at Mom's or shortly after I moved out. I also had a lot of plane crash dreams, but that's irrelevant at the moment. Nearly all, if not completely all, of my tornado dreams were set in my mom's house, or what was supposed to be understood as my mom's house. I'd always interpreted them as symbols of being out of control in an imminently destructive situation. I'd had no control over my life as a teenager. As good as I was, it was never good enough to earn the peace that is all I've ever wanted in my life. Again, fairly irrelevant...

I haven't dreamed of either tornadoes or plane crashes in YEARS. However, yesterday, I had a tornado dream. In my dream, what I remember of it, I was here at home. There was a storm, but it wasn't so violent that I couldn't see across the yard or anything. I looked outside and saw what looked like a medium-small funnel in the distance and had my mom on the phone. "I think I just saw a tornado!" I looked back outside, between the trees where it had been and it dissolved as I watched. "Yes, it's definitely a tornado!" At that point I watched the air and clouds swirl back around and the funnel re-form. Mom showed up in person at some point. Rather than standing on the deck of what would be recognized as my house, I was looking through the patio (I think) of what would've been mom's old house... Except that it was here where my house should be. I remember thinking I hadn't heard a tornado warning for our town be issued. Where did this come from?? I watched it as it blatantly appeared to be coming toward the house, though still off in the distance a ways. At some point I realized that it would be the prudent thing to do to take cover with the kids, since it was coming. The house returns to being mine insofar as that we have no basement--just a dark, creepy crawlspace. Where are we going to go to be safe?

At some point that I don't remember the transition, the threat resolved and the house remained standing. It never actually came close enough to do damage, but I looked outside and saw the most incredible thing. The clouds, left over afterward, backed by blue sky, were actually rock formations--at least they resembled huge rock formations. I went outside again--this time it's back to being Mom's house, as I was definitely on the patio-- and looked around to see HUGE rock walls to the west and north (at least those are the only directions that I looked). On top of those walls were men working and construction vehicles. One of them called a greeting down to me and was apparently a friend of Mom's (not sure if it was someone from reality or made up--can't remember who it was). I waved and called back to him and went back in the house, leaving the rock walls, rock clouds and blue sky behind. That's all I remember.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com