new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

My Clever Retort
2007-01-04, 1:51 a.m.

Ah ha... Well before I do this, I'd like to say that I do, in fact, have things of my own to write about. Really, though... What's the fun in that? That said, if the original author is displeased with my commentary, I'll delete this, but until then...

I felt compelled to write a little editorial on one entry I just read written by one of my nearest and dearest, Nakedbarista. Now, since most of you won't be able to crack into the force field she has around her blog, I'm going to take the liberty of blockquoting here:

I feel the same way, sometimes. When I hear atheists or pagans talk about how horrible Christians are, I just want to beg their forgiveness because they're RIGHT! Where they're wrong, though, is believing that ALL Christians are like this. There are those of us who aren't trying to hurt you or judge you. There are Christians who aren't interested in converting you or making you a project. There truly are Christians in this world that want to do nothing more than love you unconditionally. We want to show you that Christianity isn't about snakes and hell-fire. We want to let you know that we appreciate who you are because, whether you believe it true or not, you are one of God's creations. To hate you is to hate God. Like Donald Miller, it's my interest to show that Christian is not synonymous with conqueror.

In the air of good humor that can only occur at 2 AM, I wanted to offer my perspective, being a person of like mind that has travelled similar paths as the lovely Barista.

***Blows raspberries loudly***
(not at Barista)

I am very in tune with the idea of spreading God's love and I owe Him my entire spirit and soul for the blessings I've received. However, I have limited tolerance when it comes to certain types of things. I, conversely, do not feel compelled to beg forgiveness from Non-Christians due to the actions of zealots who operate in the name of God. As a matter of religious fact, I hold it against anyone, Christian or otherwise who would throw the actions of the few (or many, as the case may be) in the faces of innocent. Now, I make certain provisions for the ignorance of youth, so let me say that this goes double for anyone over the age of oh, say... 25. Anyone who ventures that far into adulthood and can look you in the eye and whine for open-mindedness, all the while being at the very pinnacle of ignorance themselves, needs to be slapped (in the name of God). I understand that there are truly ridiculous and insufferable Christians out there, and sometimes I'd like to lock them in a closet until they're willing to play nice as well. I'm a Christian who believes in Evolution, for heaven's sakes. I might as well tattoo a pentacle on my forehead for as much as an outcast as that makes me in certain circles. However, once I cross over into the realm of card-carrying adults who would treat every Christian like a Bible-thumper... Aww, geez guys... Does anyone else spot the hypocracy in that besides me?

Until you learn some tolerance yourselves, oh-holier-than-thou-atheists, the only thing I'm going to beg from you is pardon for hoping you get your wagging tongues stuck to icy flagpoles.

I'm so tired. G'night all.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com