new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood: Jaded
Watching:
Reading:

Family
2008-02-02, 6:55 p.m.

Isn't having a baby supposed to make me feel closer to my family? If it is, then I must be waiting to turn a corner that I can't even see now, or something like that because I do not feel warm and fuzzy about family right now. Not at all...

Of course I don't mean MY family. As I said before, not the ones that live and sleep under the same roof as me. I am feeling a special frustration and impatience toward my dad and stepmom and today, my in-laws.

I'll start with my side. When I was in the hospital for the flu and Jeff had it here at home, Jack spent 2 nights with my dad. Then he came home for half of a night, and my water broke so my stepmom came over here for the rest of the night while I was back in the hospital giving birth and then spent the following night at dad's again. Through that time, he was also fighting flu symptoms, which I hope contributed to the ensuing situation. Finally, on my last night in the hospital, I had to intervene because my dad and stepmom started to make decisions that were not theirs to make. They had made arrangements for him to go the following day to daycare and THEN told me about it. Actually, they told me we would talk about it, but that it was all worked out. Then they never called back and when I called them, it was a done deal. Let me explain my position. I understand that they had taken much of the week off from work (it was a 4 day work week to begin with because of MLK day) due to my various health/pregnancy/birthing things that came up. I respect their need to work, though they assured me that it was perfectly fine, their jobs were flexible, people understood and they would do for us whatever we needed. However, I don't like sending Jack to daycare. I actually intend on putting in the notice that we're withdrawing him on Monday because we don't need it right now, really can't spare the extra expense for something we don't need, and they won't take Rowyn anyway until she's 1, so we'll have to make other arrangements anyway. So, although it's a very good place, I don't like sending him to any daycare. As it is now, he's never there for more than 4-5 hours in a day. They intended on sending him for the whole work day from 8 AM till 4 PM, which also incurs an extra $5 charge to us in addition to the charge for the standard day (which ends at 2:30 PM, anything after is an extra charge of $5 - $8). Add to that that he still has the flu, with cough and fever and it would have been AMAZING if they'd have let him stay the whole day anyway. So that was the first part of the last straw anyway. Then when we all got home together we saw what real damage had been done in that he was a flaming brat. He had obviously been the crowned prince of Grandpa's house all week long. It was a bit of a transition to bring him back to real life, especially considering that real life now included a sibling. There were some other small things, but suffice it to say that I'm just frustrated and burned out on family.

And then, although our past several visits to my in-laws house have gone fairly well, today's visit where they came over here was another story.

That's about all Jack is going to let me write now. I was going to put this entry in my private archives, just in case, but for now I'll leave it out. The epilogue with the in-laws will likely end up in the private entries, so look for that there.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com