new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood: empowered
Watching:
Reading: The Magician's Nephew by C.S. Lewis

Apples and Bananas
2007-02-12, 9:05 a.m.

I have decided that I want to try to do something radical. Unfortunately (or maybe fortuanetly... Who knows) I lack the willpower to make it stick, but it's a good idea, at least. In the light of the health issues that my brother has been facing and the research that followed, I have come to the conclusion that we don't eat NEARLY enough vegetables around here. Jeff and I have been saying for ages that we need to get more produce into our diet. The fact is though, that our grocery store around here SUCKS when it comes to the produce aisle. I mean really, really bad. If you are lucky enough to find a good looking fruit or veggie in the store to take home with you, you better eat that sucker ASAP. It just doesn't keep as long as fresh produce should. So in the light of all of the money we've wasted on rotting fruits and veggies, we really have just given up. We drink our fruit juices and buy pre-packaged applesauce for ourselves and the baby as a snack; we buy canned veggies, which are albeit cheaper and longer-lasting, but far less tasty and have less nutrients than fresh. Our attempts to add more veggies to our diet have FAILED miserably. All of this and, as I said, we neve stick to any diet resolution we've ever made.

Well, I'm looking at a new one. God help me... I am. I'm researching variations on vegetarianism. No, no, no, now wait... I'm not some kind of liberal freak who's going to invest in a wardrobe full of "meat is murder" t-shirts. I'm just desperate for a change. I like vegetables... I really do. I just lack the mental fortitude to casually add them into my normal diet. And truly, as it is now, there's no place for any more than what I manage to get in the space of a day.

Here's what I've found that I'm interested in:

* Pescetarianism (sometimes called "Pesco-vegetarianism") � A diet in which the only animals consumed are fish or other seafood.

And even better...

* Flexitarianism � A diet that consists primarily of vegetarian food, but that allows occasional exceptions.

I really like the "flexitarian" approach. I don't have a problem with meat, eggs or dairy. I just want more vegetables (and fruits). I think that I can overcome my weak, non-committal habits by intending to base my diet on a vegetarian lifestyle and bring in the rest occasionally.

Specifically here's what I want: the bulk of my meals to be centered on a vegetable entree or maybe some kind of vegetarian pasta recipe. Fruits/nuts for breakfast and snacks. Dairy, reduced and streamlined (meaning mainly from healtier choices like yogurt, cheese cubes, low-fat cottage cheese, etc.), but not eliminated. Eggs, I'm indifferent about. I don't eat eggs often as it is, and I'm not about to go scouring product labels and rejecting something in disgust just because it contains an egg product. Fish, I don't want to give up. I enjoy fish and seafood and I believe it's healtier to have them in one's diet than out of it. I'm also beginning to warm up to sushi (ahem... hence my current layout here).

The bottom line is, I need more fruits/veggies. I need more antioxidants and phytochemicals than a daily green tea and an applesauce cup can offer me. I need to make a change to jumpstart the process. Making reasonable efforts to do so has failed, so I want to try something a little more extreme and see if I can't, at least, achieve the reasonable results that I was previously striving for.

There is a whole other side of this that interests me... Look for that here later...



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com