new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

F-U_HR
2005-09-17, 11:45 a.m.

Second week back at work... First full week...
I'd definitely say this one was a rougher week. Not so much in terms of being away from Jack, just by being back at work... Wednesday was payday, and that was when I realized that my disability pay for my maternity leave was all screwed up. Stupid me didn't bother opening my paychecks when they were mailed home after the second one (I have direct-deposit, and since I'm a salaried employee, the amount is always the same so there was no need to open them up). Well, I should have...
They're screwing me all over at this point. Luckily, I got my 8 weeks fixed, which they only gave me 6 to begin with, somehow not passing along to the finance department that I had a C-section and that gives me more time off. So since I was 2 weeks short, they drained all of my vacation time and finally I had none left by the last week, so it was unpaid. Finally, we got all the that part taken care of and they gave me the pay back that they shorted me, but my vacation is still short by a week. They changed the rules on me, though you won't get them to tell you that. They'd say I misunderstood the policy. I was told that I'd get disability pay for the entire time that the doctor ordered me off work. Beyond that, if I CHOSE to stay out, it would be on my own time--either vacation or unpaid. My doctor wrote me off of work on a Monday, I was in labor for 3 days and he was born on Thursday. I got 8 weeks after that for leave, plus that Friday of the 8th week. That was my leave, prescribed by the doctor for my recovery. Now they're telling me that the policy is that they pay 8 weeks flat for a C-section, regardless of anything else or what the doctor says unless I get a statement from the doctor of "medical necessity" to be out longer. I thought that was what I had, anyway. I wouldn't guess that the doctor would write me off for that time if it wasn't necessary. Apparently, his signature on the paper means nothing. So I have to get a new paper and then it will be re-reviewed and MAYBE get approved. Until then, they're screwing me out of my vacation time that I've been saving up for more than a year. Bastards.
Now, I realize that I'm lucky in that I get paid for any of my time off. I realize that with a lot of companies you get nothing... Except for the time off... And probably only because they have to give it to you by law. HOWEVER, I do not work for a company like that! I only want what I was told I was going to get. No more, no less...



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com