new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood: nervous
Watching:
Reading: Blue October - Balance Beam

In the shadows at midnight
2007-05-16, 9:07 a.m.

I had somewhat of an odd episode last night when I got home from work last night. I may or may not have pointed this out before, or it may or may not be apparent, but I am just this side of clinically insane when it comes to paranoia. More often than not, my concerns are just wild imaginings of my unhinged brain. Well anyway, when something does happen that is truly odd, it sticks with me. I'm going to be looking over my shoulder for months now.

As I was getting close to our street I noticed one of those annoying cars with only one headlight lit following a little ways behind me. My eyes are very sensitive to light, so if I can help it, I prefer that no one is behind me while driving at night, whether they have both headlights or not. When they turned up the road leading to our apartments, my fake paranoia kicked in. This happens quite a lot with me. Our apartment community is very huge so it isn't unusual for people to be coming and going at all times of the day and night or for someone to be coming or going at midnight when I'm usually coming home. My irrational paranoia caused me to drive to the far driveway that accesses our parking lot, figuring that whoever it was would need to turn before that (being that it's near the end of the neighborhood and most people would). Mr. One-Headlight followed. As I made the initial pass by our building, I actually missed a really good front-and-center parking space (which are NEVER open at that time of night) because I was watching behind me. I looped around to the next aisle and somehow 2 more spaces were open next to the row of garages. As I was passing away from the primo spot that I missed, I noticed that the mystery car had paused for a moment in front of my building and ceased to follow me. When I got to the space next to the garages they weren't there anymore and nowhere to be seen. Then out of nowhere they pulled in to the other open spot next to me on my passenger side. By this point I am extremely unsettled as this is a highly irregular series of events. I grabbed my purse, lunchbag and pepperspray and shot out of my car in a brisk trot, straight-line path toward my building. I never heard anyone get out of the car and honestly, I never verified if the driver was male of female. It was incredibly creepy. My one and only half-consolation is that I thought I noticed the color of the car to be one of those unusual shades of green that not many people tolerate for the color of their car. In the poor light, it did resemble the color of a junky-ish car that is normally found in my lot. My insanity was going to be truly verified when Jeff told me that the usual green car was the one parked next to me this morning when he went out, but it wasn't there which continues to creep me out. For a car that is SUPPOSED to be there, how many people get home after midnight and are gone again before 8 AM (on a non-partying weeknight, I mean)? Ugh.

I just ordered fresh pepper spray online. ...Just in case...



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com