new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood: Tired
Watching: Robots
Reading:

Last week's Visit
2008-02-08, 10:09 a.m.

It's been nearly a week since the in-laws were here, so hopefully I can go into that a little more calmly and not need to lock this entry. I don't expect them to ever see it, but I guess they could just stumble upon it if one of the nieces googled their own names or something like that. Mainly, I try to keep a rational tongue on the subject when dealing with my husband, to be courteous. Not that he reads here much, or doesn't agree with me usually whenever we have a bad visit with his family.

As I said before, our recent visits with the in-laws have been good ones. Even the ones that included his sister or her ass-hat boyfriend haven't been so bad. I guess it was bound not to last, in the end.

I thought now would be a good time for this entry considering the nature of my rants on my family. The funny thing about all of this is that the situation is very much opposite. While my family is way too involved, my in-laws aren't involved at all, and don't care to be as it seems. In over 2 1/2 years of Jack's life, they have yet to keep a supply of diapers at their place, they don't have a single sippy cup in the house (they give him his milk in a coffee mug-which has resulted in a few mishaps), they haven't bothered to acquire a car seat and when he was smaller, we used the high chair for meals that was used for Jeff, his sister and all three girls. Don't get me wrong, I'm all for recycling, but this is one of the old wooden ones with no security features and the tray doesn't even lock in place anymore. They even say themselves that it's not safe, but we put him in it anyway. My family is always thinking of Jack and I often find that they've gotten him little things like a new outfit or book for no apparent reason. Jeff's parents don't do that, ever. I wouldn't even care, except that of everyone, they have the most means. My family struggles; his never has. They just aren't thinking of my kids when we're not around. Out of sight, out of mind. It's sad, and my heart hurts for my children when I think about it.

So anyway, the visit... I guess there's not much to say at this point. They all came--his parents, sister and nieces. Jack was asleep but the girls (remember, ages 11, 13 and 15) proceeded to play with his toys (toddler toys) and go through his stuff. They aren't dainty little girls either. They tend to be rough when handling things. The youngest one is accident prone, or just careless most of the time, and was sitting on one of Jack's chairs from his toddler table and the leg broke. He's only had it since Christmas and it is supposed to last both Jack and Rowyn through their toddler years. We glued it and I hope it will hold if no one else misuses it in the meantime.

They saw no problem with bringing over the middle girl, who had a cold. Granted, she stayed away from the baby pretty well, but she was still handling Jack's toys and all of his train accessories that he plays with all the time.

It was just all very stressful to me, at the time.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com