new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood: sad
Watching: the news
Reading:

Just to the south of here....
2007-06-22, 4:10 p.m.

All right, well... I guess I'm finally ready to write about this week's current events. It won't be news, I'm pretty sure, to anyone who reads this, but there is a significant situation going on very near where I live. It's just right around the corner from where I grew up and more or less right in my in-laws immediate community.

I don't want to be google-able, so tolerate my generalizations and other measures.

It seems we have our very own L@ci Peter3son case right here in the tri-county area. It doesn't help anything, of course, that I'm currently pregnant or that my children will be about exactly the same age apart as this missing woman's would've been/will be if they somehow find her or the baby. Of course, at this point, no one is very optimistic for that.

I guess my general thought on the issue is that it just boggles my mind that people could commit this sort of crime after all of the attention that the Peter3son case drew and the legacy it has left (laws enacted, public outcry, etc.). You would think that a pregnant woman would be considered stricly off-limits after all of that. Honestly, seriously, is there not a worse stigma attached to this kind of crime than to any other type of violent crime or sex crime out there? It really is just baffling to me.

I guess, to someone like me, it should be a comfort that most of these things are committed by an "associate" of the victim (i.e., the baby's father). To that end, pregnant women don't necessarily have to lock themselves in the house for fear that some wacko is likely to abduct them for whatever reason. Not that that doesn't happen or even that it hasn't happened HERE several years ago (there was a case back in 2000 in a nearby community where the woman was kidnapped and killed by a crazed woman who performed a c-section in a garage and tried to pass the child off as her own). It's just not as common.

My heart aches for the victim in this story and for her 2-year-old son.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com