new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

MySpace still Sucks
2006-03-06, 8:48 p.m.

Okay, Okay... I decided to grab a glass of the nice cabernet sauvignon that Jeff and I opened up last night (if I've not said it before, I'll say it now, if you don't appreciate red wine, then you're not drinking the right kind. I thought I hated it when the only red I knew was Merlot), and come back here and be reasonable. I think the best thing about being a wine drinker, for me at least, is that it only takes a few really bad wine-drunk episodes before you/I decide(d) to be an adult and drink responsibly. How many people who are beer or shot drinkers can really say that? One glass per night for maybe 2 or 3 nights in a row (until the bottle is gone) and my wine craving is usually pretty much satisfied for a couple of months or so.

Ah, but I digress... Much to my extreme nausea, I am considering (for some reason that is still not quite clear to me) utilizing one of those horrid Myspace.com pages. Way back in the day when I first learned of the site, I did create an account just so I could go in and look around. I really didn't understand all the hype and that was the end of it. Then more people I knew started talking abou their profiles there and sending me annoying email invitations so I do go look around once in a while. I think I mostly do it just to keep myself disgusted with it. One significant outing in particular, I found someone there that I'd just as soon know no longer exists. Someone who tried very hard to make a great deal of trouble for Jeff and I several years ago. To a certain extent, she succeeded brilliantly. So Jeff and I get to deal with the aftermath for as long as it takes and she gets to move on with her pathetic life, unperturbed (more than she would have been anyway). I knew she'd be there, and I looked for her and I found her. I knew at the time that it would be a mistake and that I'd just be better off letting sleeping dogs lie, but you know I couldn't possibly do that. So anyway, as much as I was unimpressed and generally turned off by MySpace before that, I've hated it since. I don't like the way people use it and I'm not very pleased that you can search people out by using first and last names--real names. I think even if I did go there, it would be for the wrong reasons. I'm fine with checking into what other people are up to, but I'd rather they all just forget they ever knew me. So I guess it doesn't make much sense to pretty-up my existing account anymore than it is (which, as I said is not at all--it's just there). I think if anyone from my current real world (work, etc.) found me there, I'd be embarrassed to be there at all. I certainly could never write anything in the "blog" feature because random people from real life could search my name and find me there. That wouldn't do.

As a completely unrelated way to try to end this entry on an upbeat note, we just got Season 1 of the Muppet Show on DVD. It was taped before I was born and I don't know who half of the guests are off the top of my head, but it's awesome all the same. The Muppets rule. Jack loves it already--especially any part where someone is singing.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com