new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

A new peace
2006-08-31, 8:13 p.m.

This week is the beginning of something new, and (I hope) better. I'm back on second shift where I belong, but now I work 4 ten-hour shifts from Sunday through Wednesday (hence, I am off tonight). What this means is that I will only get a couple of hours of family time on Monday-Wednesday, but that I have 3 whole days now to spend with Jack and roughly 3 half days to spend with Jeff (when you take out classes and his work). Not to mention that I already think I've gotten more sleep and it's only halfway into the first week.

As has been so blatantly clear from my more recent entries, working days stressed me out like nothing else. Besides not getting the sleep I needed, there's just so much more going on from 7am to 5pm, and thus more drama associated with it. Now, at least half of my workday is quiet and peaceful (for the most part). The only big drawback is that an off-shifter is usually not so much on any kind of promotion-track, but since it was made clear to me early this year that I no longer am anyway, then I might as well have my sleep, health, family and sanity. When you boil it down, that's all that matters anyway. And in the end, if this change and the upcoming move to the new building with our new lab and office space doesn't change my attitude dramatically, then I'm finally throwing in the towel and bidding out of my department. That's my decision. However, I do think that this will help relax me at least for a while. Hopefully it will get me through to my next pregnancy (next fall?) and through the rest of Jeff's school. Then maybe, just maybe everything will change. Perhaps I'll join the ranks of the rest of you all SAHM's here.

This is what I think I'll someday look back in retrospect and call "the home-stretch."



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com