new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood: Tired
Watching: Temptation
Reading:

A 3rd baby? Doubtful
2008-02-12, 9:41 a.m.

I need to:
Finish knitting Rowyn's blanket
Finish Jack's First Year scrapbook
Start Rowyn's First Year scrapbook
Clean
Do laundry
Feed the baby and/or pump if she stays asleep
Clean
Take a shower
Clean

Motivation: Non-existent (I'm sleepy)

I guess I could squeeze in my entry here about having more kids. I don't think it'll take that long since I've already hit on some of the points about it in past entries.

No, we are not planning to have any more babies. I've been lucky to not have any major complications in my pregnancies. I've had one big baby, requiring C-section and one where my flu and assorted winter illness symptoms caused her to pass meconium in utero. I suspect both of them played a part in the pelvis-spreading pain that I am still experiencing. Those have been the extent of my "serious" complications. Not so bad at all... I've been lucky. However, as far as discomfort and minor issues go, my pregnancies have kicked my ass. I have healthy, wonderful babies, so it's been totally worth it, but I really don't want to get pregnant again.

Not only that, but I've been through labor twice now. While it's true that you don't remember the details of the pain after it's over (even now less than 3 weeks later, I can't put myself back in that place and remember what exactly the contractions felt like), I know I didn't enjoy the pain. All these moms out there advocating natural labor and no pain meds... That it's a beautiful, natural pain--easily managed with the right natual methods... I say that's a crock. It hurts like a son-of-a-bitch. Anyway, but I have that experience and I'm glad for it. Even with the pain, I wouldn't have wanted to miss out on that very primal part of womanhood in my life. I've also done the C-section thing and I've done the vaginal birth thing. Each had their advantages and disadvantages. I never imagined that pushing would be so hard. I was exhausted. However, the recovery has been much quicker than when I had the C-section. C-section gets the point for being the easiest way to get them out, VBAC gets the point for being easier to cope with afterward. Regardless, I don't want to do either one of them again.

Finally, and probably the most important part, I still don't know about exactly feeling a sense of "completeness" of my family the way it is now, but it's something like that. Maybe it's because this is the family structure I grew up with--one boy and one girl. Maybe I'm having a hard time imagining anything else. Honestly, I don't know where another one would fit in.

This isn't as eloquent as I'd planned. Rowyn is waking up. Hopefully I'll have an edit later...



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com