new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Vicodin and Cheetos
2005-07-30, 11:28 p.m.

Jack is one month old today. He is getting dangerously close to smiling for real now. There were a few of them today that I could swear had something behind them (other than maybe a gas bubble). He's such an angel.
All I can say is, thank God for Vicodin. Yet another of the hidden advantages of having had a C-section. Luckily, whenever I've had to have pain meds prescribed for anything, there are usually more pills than there is pain, which means I can save my pills for future use. This has never come in so handy as it has since I've had braces. My last dentist visit before Jack came, the doc took my wires out to see if anything would move funny without them. I think he also did it to make me more comfortable, knowing that the birth was coming up. So anyway, when I went back yesterday, I got my wires back, of course and so it was a little like starting over except that nothing major needs to get moved around now. Even still, it hurts to eat or put any pressure on my teeth. So, after all day of eating soft foods and any pasta small enough to be swallowed whole, I took some of my leftover prescriptions so that I could chew, finally. Granted, all I had was a bowl of cereal and some cheetos... Maybe tomorrow I'll eat something healthy. Good news on that front is that I think we'll finally be almost done with the braces soon, which would be nice since I'd like to spend some part of my twenties maybe actually looking my age. I can't tell you how no-fun it was to have to walk around hugely pregnant, with braces and sometimes forgetting to put on my "fake" wedding ring before going out in public (since my real ones stopped fitting in the third trimester).
My grandparents came over to visit today. I find it to be amazing how instantly everyone falls in love with Jack. He's just so captivating, and he doesn't even have to do anything at all. Well, okay, everyone falls in love with him except maybe his Aunt Nikki, but she barely has anything to do with her own kids, so I guess I don't expect her to fall in love with her only nephew. I was actually thinking about her earlier today while I was watching Jack sleep. My Vicodin was kicking in and I needed to put him down so I could fix something to eat while I had the chance, but as I was watching him I really didn't want to let him go. He's only going to be small enough to hold like that for so long and I can eat anytime, right? And I thought about my sister-in-law at that moment. I wonder how much she's missed of her kids by dumping them off on her parents 5 or so nights a week for the majority of their childhoods. I wonder if she'll look back and regret that ever, someday when they are grown up. Okay, to be fair, I don't know for sure that she is still using her parents to that extent, but I do know that everytime we've gone over there, the girls are there and Nikki usually is not.
Ah, well.... Anyway, I'm wasting prime nap time, and I still have to wash bottles.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com