new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Almost like twins
2005-07-18, 2:42 p.m.

Yikes, I was just reading through the diary of the one person who has me listed as a buddy that I don't know: lightupnight and I couldn't help but notice that she has 2 lilypie counters at the bottom of her diary now. One says that her baby is 8 months, 1 day old; the other says that she's 7 weeks, 2 days pregnant. Oy. Not that I expect to be having sex anytime soon, but I must remember to put condoms back on the shopping list for future use.
Of course, in my case, it's all about the C-section. I'm finding, especially as I read more, that I am getting more and more petrified at the idea of ever getting pregnant again now that I've had a C-section. I guess I'll have to be talking to the doctor about that one. One good one I read said that the risk of stillbirth is something like 4 times higher on your second baby if you had a C-section with the first and they don't have the foggiest clue why that is. That's nice, isn't it? Then you have all of those nice little extras like placenta problems and uterine rupture, not to mention the complications that can come up from the surgery itself, assuming that you have it again with the second birth. The one thing that I can't complain about is the recovery. I've been really lucky in that arena, and I was very worried about that for the longest time to begin with. I'm sure I've said it before, but the first day was hell. The second and the third days were bad too, but better than the first and I dare say that the pain meds that I got after the first day were way better (just Vicodin and Motrin, where on the first day I had I.V. drugs). Just as my doctor predicted, by about 10 days later, I didn't need to take anything really--I've still got most of my prescription left in the bottles. Once in a while I find a movement that is a little awkward or that my ab muscles are still a bit weak for, but mostly, I feel okay. I can't imagine that recovery from a vaginal birth is much easier, other than maybe the absence of those first one to three hell-days. At any rate, I'll probably never know and at least I can console myself with the notion that I won't have to worry about hemorroids.
Uhg, well anyway... If not for the C-section, I'd be all for having my kids one on top of the other. Might as well recover from the whole damn thing all at one time instead of getting back into shape just in time to mess things up again.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com