new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood: Jaded
Watching:
Reading:

Professional Peon
2007-10-02, 8:58 a.m.

I have 2 big updates that I've been holding on to, and the longer I wait, the more vague and unrecountable the details become. At this point, they could both be summed up with a phrase something like, "In the end, it turned out okay." I'll do my public entry first--or try to--even though I need to get Jack up so he can get off to daycare soon. There will be a private entry soon, updating my brother's situation, hopefully in the next day or two. Without further ado...

So that Supervisor promotion that I bid on fell through. Or at least I'm told that it is falling through. This after I was told that I had it, hands down. Jeff's been trying to convince me that there are legal liabilities to be pursued here. That breach of verbal contract holds up in court these days and that the courts rarely side with the employers... In the end it comes down to me always knowing who has the final say and me also knowing that my superiors who told me that the position was mine also weren't the ones who give the final approval. Maybe a really good lawyer could squeak it through, but it doesn't really matter. Also, I've had the growing (no pun intended) suspicion that my pregnancy played a part in the decision, which is again, illegal. It still doesn't matter. Lawsuit = No Job = No insurance when the baby comes = Huge debt = Any court settlement or award goes straight to paying off medical bills and I'm no better than I started, expept I still have no job. If Jeff had already graduated and been into his career, then it might've been different, but that's not the reality of it.

So anyway, instead of picking someone who I'd view as less qualified than me for the promotion, what they decided to do was pick no one and post the position to the outside for external candidates. What I get as a consolation prize is a training class on management "soft skills" that is the only thing keeping me out of the job, says them. The only quality that i lack. I'm told that it's a big deal for them to offer this to me because no one gets this opportunity unless they actually get the job first. So let's review... I'll be taking the exact same class at the exact same time, learning the exact same skills as I would have if they would have promoted me. Only now, I'll be "perfect" when the next opportunity arises. It could happen in a couple of months, more likely not. And in another 6 months, I'll be all through being pregnant and off of maternity leave. Good to go... Convenient, huh? As I say, it doesn't matter.

Here are the positives... I was hoping to go back on some form of first shift after the baby comes so that Jeff could be more available to pursue his own job opportunites after he graduates in December. This promotion would've stuck me on a rigid second shift schedule indefinitely. Also, my hours are extremely flexible in my current job and again, I'd lose that in the supervisory role. Finally, the phantom opportunities coming up in the future for which I'll be better prepared will be better jobs for me and closer to my interests. However, these positions do not exist yet and they are only in the planning phases. They may or may not ever be created.

Negatives: I'm bored in my job. I'm ready for something new. I've been anticipating a promotion for the past 2 years now and gotten a big NOTHING. It has made me less motivated and as long as I'm being honest, a worse employee. I really just don't care most of the time about doing anything except what it takes to get me through the day. And the big one... Pay. We were starting to count on the pay raise that the promotion would bring now that Jeff's occupation is officially "student." His internship just ended this past weekend, so his job now is to study and take care of Jack.

Holy Smokes, I have to get going. Look for that private entry soon.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com