new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Nice Holiday Weekend
2006-05-27, 7:56 p.m.

Here it is, Saturday, and the first day of my "Everybody-Go-Away" three day weekend is nearly over. I guess maybe that's not the right label for it, but I decided early last week that this was going to be a relaxing weekend for me. This includes not going anywhere for visiting or social calls. Anyone who wants to see me/Jack is going to have to come here. My mom and Gramma have already been here and gone. Now it's quiet again. Thank goodness. Lately, I've kind of OD'ed on family and I'm grateful for the chance to just stay home and reset all my mental switches.

Part of the reason for the spurt in family visits is that my brother was in town for most of the past week. I really hope that after Jeff graduates (again) that we'll be in a position to visit more often. I can't wait for the first time we see eachother and Jack recognizes him and welcomes him with excitement. As with anyone who moves away though, his time was spread pretty thin between all the various family members and friends who wanted to see him (Nikki, I know you can relate). I think all of that ended up being very taxing to him, mentally and physically, because he definitely seemed like he was more than ready to go "home" at the end of the visit.

Jack is getting so big. I'm going to say the thing now that ends up in all diaries of all new mommies, which is: "I can't believe that he's almost a year old now." He's about the size of a small 2-year-old, and he's just now getting to where he crawls pretty well and wants to climb on everything in sight. We have another month until his birthday and we're trying to keep our part of the gift list very modest since we're still trying to decide what to do with the mountains of stuff the family got him at Christmas. I can't wait to see what this place looks like after we collect all the loot after his birthday. There's no mistaking that he's the first Grandson in the family.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com