new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Radio-thon Weekend
2006-02-13, 7:01 p.m.

I'd love to try to squeak out a real entry for once. Let's see if it's possible...

This past weekend held the unholy combination of my bonus from work and the "Radio-thon" fundraiser for Children's Hospital. Funny how having a baby changes even the most obscure things in one's life... They've been doing this thing for the past 7 years and for the last 6 of them it's been the most boring weekend of radio I could possibly imagine. This year I listened to it, and all of the stories and whatnot. I eagerly waited to hear the current totals as they were updated. In the end, they did really well; they raised over 3/4 of $1,000,000. I did my little part (very little up against the grand total) and threw in 10% of my bonus. This was actually the first year since I've worked there when the whole thing wasn't spent before the check even came in, and besides they took very good care of Jack during his first three days of life. More than that, his urologist is associated with Children's Hospital and if the day comes when they decide they want to do the surgery for his kidney-reflux issue, it will be there. So between the story of his birth and whatever the future brings, we have indisputably joined the list of families for whom Children's Hospital has/will make a huge difference. I was going to post the toll-free number here in case anyone wanted to make a pledge (they were delighted to see any amount, so even $5 would've probably gotten their attention if it came from out-of-state). Since this was a new thing for us, though, I kept it to myself. I probably will advertise a bit more to both family and everyone else next year, so watch for that.

As for the move, we're stuck kind of an intermediate place. We've been packing up everything that we won't immediately be needing or wanting for the next couple of weeks, but both for the purpose of not packing up something we'll need and also for not changing the way things look around here so it will look familiar for Jack, there's still a lot left to do. This week will bring more procrastination, followed by our long weekend trip to Indiana to see my brother (first trip out since he moved there!) and finally insanity next week as the clock ticks down to our final moments here.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com