new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood: Happy
Watching: Ratatouille
Reading:

Recovery and Whatnot
2008-01-31, 9:57 a.m.

I don't know how much I'll get out here now. Jack is up and the rest of my family is not so I'm going to give it a shot.

What do I want to start with? I'm pleased to say that I think breastfeeding is going much better this time than before. We're encountering some of the same challenges as with Jack, mainly that she sleeps in extra long stretches such that not only is she not eating enough during those hours, but it's not great conditioning for my milk supply. However, this time instead of freaking out and giving up, I'm staying the course. Yesterday she slept pretty solidly from noon till midnight. We managed to get her to take a little breastmilk in a bottle once about halfway through that time and I pumped once. It's really not good for either one of us, but I'm waiting it out. When Jack was like this we panicked, switched to formula since it is supposed to hold them over for more hours and my already pathetic milk supply dwindled away. I'm learning that with this baby I find myself saying "If only I'd known before the things I know now." I guess that's to be expected.

As to the rest of my recovery, I will say that while the C-section truly wasn't THAT bad, this has been so much easier. Most birth-related things are already healed and I haven't had anything but Tylenol just a few times for discomfort since I've been home. Even then, it's more leftover pains from the pregnancy and not so much from the birth (I'm sure I'll be complaining about that more later. I can't remember if I mentioned it while I was pregnant, but I was having pains associated with my pelvic joint spreading. Giving birth didn't help.). I am most thankful to not have to be recovering from surgery while also recovering from the flu. I would've been violently coughing all the way through the surgery and I think the pain from the incision together with the cough would've been more than I could handle.

I've also learned that I am deeply thankful that I DID have the C-section with Jack. While he was only 1 pound larger, it seems like he was HUGE compared with Rowyn, especially his head. I am quite sure that I could've birthed him vaginally if I had been allowed to go into labor on my own, but I think he would've torn me in half trying to get out. Everything happens for a reason.

I think that actually sets me up pretty nicely for a future entry on having more kids, etc. I hope the muse stays with me until then.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com