new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Pains of Motherhood
2006-09-01, 6:21 p.m.

Today has been ROUGH!

Last night Jack started to run a fever, but seemed to be feeling fine, so I gave him some tylenol and sent him off to bed (late... It was a broken sleeping night, but that's just my son... Sick or not). It was under 100 and he's been having teething symptoms these last couple of weeks, so I wasn't concerned. I was, however, prepared to call the doctor in the morning since we're still supposed to be watching any fever symptoms for signs of a UTI. At 05:30 when he woke up, he still had a fever, so more tylenol. When we had to get him up at 08:15 for our appointment with our future daycare arrangement, his fever seemed to be gone and he was still in a great mood.

We went to the day care. I cried. We sat and watched him interact with the other kids and the teachers for a little bit, and he warmed up and did fine, but I cried right there in front of God and everyone. I feel so guilty about having to leave him. It's only going to be 2 half-days per week, but I don't like it. I've been trying to tell myself it'll be good for him socially and whatnot, and it worked just fine convincing myself until we actually got there. Then I fell apart. Thank God I won't be the one dropping him off because I guarantee I'd probably cancel the whole thing before I'd actually turn and walk away from him. I'm still really upset and I don't see myself getting used to it.

So this whole time he's doing fine and playing well. I wasn't going to take him there if his fever continued, for obvious reasons both on our side and for the other children. He was fine as we went to lunch afterward as well.

Once we got home, he did feel a little warm again, though still in great spirits. Holy cow, now his temperature is something like 101.9 ("something like" because he kept squirming and crying and carrying on as I tried to hold the thermometer in his armpit and it slowly drove up the temp towards the end--I think it would've topped out at around 101.5 if he had been calm)!! I called our doc, who said take him to the hospital to get his urine cultured. I, instead, called our urologist's office to see if they'd do it there, and they did (saving me 20%-worth of an ER charge). Anyway, in the end it came back negative, so his kidneys/bladder are fine. So what's this fever about then?!? Right now he's passed out on the couch because all he wanted to do was cuddle himself to sleep and not be left alone in his crib. He's so very sweet. He still has no other symptoms besides this fever (still around 102 when his tylenol wears off). He is a bit lethargic now, but that could be as much from not sleeping enough last night and having no real nap today as it is from being sick. Doc says that the fever doesn't mean as much as his behavior and if that changes or worsens, then check back in. Otherwise, it's Tylenol and stay the course.

I don't like it. I almost wish his urine had been positive, then I'd know what was wrong.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com