new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Those who don't learn from history are doomed to reapeat it
2006-12-16, 10:25 p.m.

I'm having some deja vu lately. Jeff and I have been on a lucky streak of having some really good years these past several. The last half of 2002 all the way through the end of 2005 were a huge blessing. This year hasn't been awful, but it's had it's rough spots. I'm afraid we're in a decline. Perhaps I should clarify... It's not so much the Jeff and I part of it that is in a decline, although I have pointed out that since we've become parents, everything in our relationship seems like it takes 3 times the effort and with not so much payoff. That's just how it goes though, I'm finding out from others I know with small children that we are absolutely normal, even if normal sucks sometimes. Anyway, no... It's not my marriage that I'm worried about, nor is it our son, exactly. It is, though, everything else. Every single other thing that surrounds us. This is what I've been thinking that worries me:

The year 2000 was a bad year in my/our lives. It began with terrible troubles at home for me with my mom and ex-stepfather (which continued throughout the year). Later in the year, we discovered that we were running out of money and time to get our wedding together (planned for that August), so we cancelled/postponed it for what we were hoping would be a year later (ahem... we got married in 2003, actually), we lost our best friends later in the fall (a situation which, again, remedied itself toward the end of 2002, going into 2003), we had some behind-the-scenes badness come up (that, actually, was related to our relationship) and then the big finale came up when, 2 days after Christmas my father was diagnosed with prostate cancer. I can remember laying in bed on New Year's Eve sometime after midnight and saying to Jeff, "2000 was a really bad year." If I only knew... LOL. 2001 nearly killed me, but I'm not going to talk about that just now. Suffice it to say that 2001 was sooooooo much worse. Last time, I'm pretty sure it was a faith thing. God was calling me back by sending out every possible sign short of actually ending someone's life (very thankfully). Now, I can't imagine it's that.

2006 has not, thus far (it's not over yet), been a "really bad year." There isn't really much comparison to 2000 or 2001. It has been a little stormier though, than I've grown accustomed to, and I really hope that it's not a harbinger of things yet to come.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com