new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Happy Samhain
2010-10-31, 8:44 p.m.

Strong woman, strong mother, strong witch...

Oh, hello there... (completely beside the point of this entry--pay no mind).

Anyway, last weekend I took my sweet children out to buy their Halloween costumes and we carved pumpkins. This weekend, I flew solo on two trick-or-treat trips (well, me plus Grandparents) and baked pumpkin sugar cookies. I'd say my kids have had a fairly well-rounded Halloween memory for 2010. Daddy won't be appearing in any bits of it. *shrugs* Between work and all of the other important things he has going on, I guess he couldn't make the time. Last night I was thinking about something that one of my colleagues at work said to me about his work schedule and such. About working so many hours and "suddenly your daughter is nine-years-old and..." You get the point. I wonder if Jeff will someday come to that awakening? The sad part is that the kids will have had it for themselves long before he ever does. But then again, some of us know that work isn't the only thing he's prioritizing above his family--and that's the REALLY sad part. "If you're not part of the solution then you're part of the problem." Jeff just opted to take a headfirst dive into the problem in every way imaginable.

After trick-or-treating tonight, just as we were sitting down to dinner I looked out the window and realized it was sunset. I ran outside and lit my Samhain fire, asking the Guardians for their assistance before I excused myself to sit quietly next to my husband and across from my father for our Halloween dinner together. After dinner I went back to my dying fire and rekindled it--it was beautiful and strong--I was completely impressed. I made my equivalents to resolutions for the Pagan New Year and watched my fire burn, growing stronger and hotter as I watched. My son and my father both eventually found their way out to see what I was up to in the dark, by myself, playing in the fire pit. We watched the fire burn down to embers and decided we'd had enough of the cold. Several minutes later, as I was cleaning up from dinner I looked back outside to see that flames had rekindled on their own. Strong little fire I had built there--perfectly symbolic of the needs that I built it to meet.

Strong woman, strong mother, strong witch...



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com