new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood: Frazzled
Watching: Jericho, Season 2--episode 3
Reading: The 21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership

New (used) car purchase
2008-07-05, 2:08 p.m.

I guess I've discovered what someone does when they are itching to make a major purchase (i.e., a house), but for one reason or another just doesn't have all of her/his ducks in a row to make it happen. What happens? One may opt to make another major purchase in the meantime. Like a car...

Ouch.

I believe we'll make this work and not get too thrown off of our original course. It just seems like a tall task at this point in the game.

See, we didn't really expect my car to make it through the winter without some sort of large, major repair or service--probably for the transmission. It did... Bonus. We KNOW that my car will not pass E-check due to my "Service Engine Soon" light having been perpetually lit for the past 2 years with no real reason why it's on. We KNOW my car will be due for it's big, expensive 120K tune-up and service within the next year and we also KNOW that my brake calipers (right, calipers? Well anyway...) will also need to be replaced in that period of time. That's not even taking into consideration that my car is 9 years old and does have over 110K miles on it and who knows what could go out at any time? Oh, and I may need new tires before winter also. Right...

So, even with knowing and/or expecting the above issues, we still had no plans set in stone for replacing my car or any part of it, but I figure that all of the above would come to at least $5,000 in imminent repairs/service.

Earlier this week a good deal on a gently used 5 year old Pontiac Vibe sort of fell into my lap unexpectedly. After Jeff and I talked about it, it seemed like it was a sign and we'd be silly to let it go. So we didn't. I traded in my car today, plus put down a hefty down payment and now I have car payments to make for the next 5 years. It's been a big day; I have a headache.

More later...



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com