new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Transitioning
2005-07-08, 9:28 p.m.

Today, I'm tired...
While I did get the chance to sleep on my stomach last night, I failed to mention that it was only about 5 hours worth of sleep. I'm fully aware that I'm lucky to be getting that much at one time with an 8 day old around, but remember, I'm generally an 8-10 hour sleeper. I guess that makes two good things that being in the hospital and recovering from surgery has done for me. First, after a week of not being able to sleep comfortably (well, as comfortably as possible compared to trying to sleep with a 9-plus-month-belly) in the hospital bed, I'm at least used to not getting my full night. At least here I get to be woke up by an adorable little child instead of by a well-meaning, though unwelcomed-at-3-in-the-morning nurse wanting to take my blood pressure. Also, after fasting for 3 days of labor (well, okay I ate one meal--dinner--on Monday and Tuesday, but nothing Wednesday) and then being put on a clear liquid diet for the day after the C-section, that pretty much demolished my pregnancy appetite. My stomach feels shrunk down to just-post-morning-sickness size. Lactation appetite hasn't really come on yet, but I have a funny suspicion that neither has my milk. We've only fed Jack formula today because I'm pretty sure I was starving him for the sake of trying to nurse yesterday. I'm going to try a few little tricks to get the whole breast-feeding thing on the right track, but right now it looks bleak. We'll see.
There are a few other things I've had on my mind today, but I don't think I'll go into them now seeing as how they are completely unrelated. Right now I think I'll check on the baby and try to get a quick stomach-sleeping nap.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com