new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood: Cold
Watching: Happy Feet
Reading:

Minor Triumphs
2007-04-20, 5:58 p.m.

We've had a few minorly important triumphs this week.

First, my husband got the job that he interviewed for as his summer internship. This takes us one step closer to (and keeps him on track for) his graduation in December. He was able to smooth out the issues that came up to stand in the way of his being hired, so we have very, very good news there.

Secondly, I had my follow-up ultrasound today. I have no more cyst on my right ovary, but now one on my left. I think the final verdict is that they're just artifacts of my ovulation. I have to guess that it is ever so slightly not what they'd expect to see in a normal luteal cyst, or else they wouldn't have made me go in for bloodwork on the last one. My assumption is that if it were the average appearance of a post-ovulation follicle, they'd be able to spot that and call it what it is right off the bat instead of this "compound cyst" business. Apparently, it's just how my body does things, I guess. Given my family's track record with ovaries and cysts and tumors in middle age, I think I've decided once and for all to do the unthinkable and go on birth control after we have our second child. I don't have any moral or religious objection to the pill, but I don't like the idea of screwing with my hormones (mainly for the issue of mood swings and other mental concerns), so I've declined to go that route so far. However, once I don't need them anymore (because, while I'd consider having 3 kids, I expect 2 will be our limit), I think my ovaries should have a chemically-induced rest. Anyway, I still have some discomfort on my right side, but now I know it had nothing to do with the cyst, I guess. Apparently, we'll be circling back to it just being adhesions from the Cesarean.

And.... these two topics link together nicely because now that Jeff's graduation is just about locked down, we can start making some more solid plans for our next pregnancy. Where I had originally planned to start trying between June and August this year, I really think we're going to go with December or January instead. There are going to be a lot of Fall birthdays in our household. Yay for babies!



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com