new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Twilight entry, as promised
2010-10-02, 12:04 p.m.

For shame... I never came back to the Twilight entry I promised a while back.

I was thinking one night at work about some of the very early steps of my situation--going back 18-24 months ago that maybe sparked things in me to change the way I think about marriage, life, monogamy, what's right and wrong and what may fall into a grey area in the middle. I've mentioned several times about my Dan Savage podcast where he repeatedly makes a fair argument for non-monogamy. "Monogamy doesn't mean that you wont want to fuck other people, it just means that you agree to refrain from fucking other people... People who enter into monogamous agreements assuming that because they love the other person that they will no longer want to be with other people for ever and ever are at a risk for failure" (pardon if the quote isn't entirely exact--you get it). So those ideas definitely started bouncing around in my brain and started to make some sense to me--hence my interest in polyamory.

Twilight though--so I'm sitting at work and I'm remembering one time in particular that I was soaking in the bath, reading Twilight (I believe it was indeed the first book in the saga--actually Twilight, but I'm sure the thoughts crossed through my head while reading the other novels) and it occurred to me why these young adult genre books are so appealing to older women, outside of the intended age bracket. Say what you will about Stephanie Meyer or her writing style, but she does a good job at capturing and expressing in prose the feelings of puppy love. Reading her description of Bella's feelings really did (for me at least, and I'd guess for others too) spark some nostalgia toward the feelings of new, exciting love and attraction... And also some sadness--because that time is over. Routine has set in and the giddy new love feeling really only exists in 2 forms: truly new due to a fresh relationship or somehow never faded away in an ongoing relationship. Once it's gone, there really is no bringing it back. Before anyone wants to argue with me, sure--you could still refresh a relationship, find the spark or spice it up or whatever euphemism you choose to use, but it's not like the new love feeling. It's just not.

So anyway, it occurred to me that I couldn't be the only person who thought this, considering the popularity of the books across so many demographic groups. When I google searched it though, while I did get results, they didn't match what I had thought. People are indeed getting stupider. While there were pre-recorded search topics for "Twilight causes divorce" and "Twilight causes relationship problems" the articles that they led to disappointed me. They reported instances of women becoming bored/indifferent/upset with their husbands and boyfriends and leaving the relationships because no one could live up to the image of Edward in the book. Boo... Really, girls? Come on...

I guess it's not a new phenomenon. There were references to Clark Gable as Rhett Butler in Gone With the Wind and the Heathcliff character in Wurthering Heights (still on my "to read" list). I'm still disappointed in humanity though (even if I can't disagree with the part about Clark Gable. Mmmm....).



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com