new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

The good, the bad and the ugly this week
2006-02-02, 7:25 p.m.

Up until about 3 hours ago, I didn't know if we were going to have a place to live in a month from now. The last apartments we looked at were supposed to call us back by Tuesday if our application went through and up until 4 PM today, we still hadn't heard a thing. Finally Jeff called and got the word that yes, we were approved. We're going on Saturday to look at the style #4 apartment that I mentioned previously that will potentially be our new home. At this point, we are running out of time such that there really isn't much choice. So really, with exception to having warm bodies to help us with the heavy lifting, we're all squared away.

I'm of mixed emotions on the topic. This is not a great apartment. This is not a great apartment building. We definitely do NOT have enough room even for us right now let alone any more stuff that we will accumulate as Jack becomes a more and more active child. They fixed the roof, so I'm sure we wouldn't be expecting any more floods anytime soon, but really... It's a flat roof so how long can it possibly stay good in the snow and the rain? I will miss the lake. We never did anything with it as far as boating or fishing or anything--no one around here does--but it's very pretty in the morning when the sun is coming up. That's one of the few things I was looking forward to about going on first shift. I'm going to miss having the internet when we let our services lapse until we get used to our new financial needs. Really, even though this place is kind of crappy and a bit too small, it's sad to leave just because of the place it holds in our lives. This is where we came home after we eloped to Las Vegas. This was our home when I got pregnant and where we came home with Jack after he was born. I guess the longer we lived here the more memories and bits and pieces of our life we'd be leaving behind, so perhaps it's better this way.

And in the midst of all of this stress, this week has also been another rough one at work. My supervisor, who I've always thought to be on pretty good terms with, made a comment that amounted to me being lazy and wasting a lot of time instead of working. Unfortunately, she didn't say it to me so that I could defend myself outright. That also meant that when it came time for her to apologize, I didn't get to hear that either. The next day her justification was that she "didn't know what got into her." She knows how hard we work, blah, blah, blah. That's garbage. Authority figures are not entitled to shoot off their mouths like that just to blow off a little of their own steam. How about she goes and beats up on some of her little pets who really don't do any work all day long? I've been working my ass off ever since I came back after my little Christmas vacation. I work really, really hard. I work long hours sometimes and I sure as hell don't do it for myself since I don't get paid for overtime. Every minute I work over 8-1/2 hours is a minute I steal from my husband and son and every minute that I might waste during the day is time even more time I have to steal from them later. As if I don't have any place better to be than at work like some people with no lives. I have no fucking time to waste. Go to hell.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com