new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood: To shop
Watching: The Departed
Reading:

Coach bag
2007-04-17, 7:40 p.m.

Have you ever really wanted something that you either couldn't afford or just shouldn't fork over the cash for, even if it wouldn't totally break you? I'm in the middle of one of those situations right now and it's REALLY stupid, but I am. My family gives me a lot of credit (that I maybe don't totally deserve) about how good I am with money. Once, that was very true. When the nature of my job meant that the largest check I could really look forward to in a week was around $52.00 (Nikki, you remember how that was), I really made that money stretch. Partially, I did it by not driving and dating guys who I let pay for everything. In that way, it was an easy thing to do to accumulate way more savings than what someone who made as little as I did should have.

Now, I have more expenses and more responsibilities, but my maximum paycheck doesn't top out at fifty bucks. I don't exactly make GOOD money for what I do, but it's okay and since my car is paid off, but not yet falling apart, and the income tax return came in, there is a bit left over for "mad money." I officially have the most spoiled son on the planet so outside of food and diapers, he really doesn't need anything. Plus, his birthday is only about 2 1/2 months away (God help me), so the spoiling will continue and our apartment will get just a little bit smaller on that day. My point is, it's not irresponsible for me to think of spending on myself because he really doesn't want for much. God-willing, my husband will be able to nail down an internship for the summer that will pay more than his current regular job, so that will be a little extra there as well.

I'm just tired of being cheap, er... "Thrifty," I mean. Once in a while I'd like to get something nice. Something that I never thought I would have, etc.

So, in my current mental debate over not being cheap, this is the object of my obsession. I really want to buy myself a Coach purse. I thought they were kind of gay-looking when I first brought my attention to them, what with their big "C" patterned fabric, etc., but my mom got one from my aunt for Christmas, and I've had time to warm up to it. I think it's kind of cute, actually.

Now, I'm not talking about going out and dropping $300 on a purse into which I can fit maybe my wallet and keys only. I haven't completely lost my damn mind, you know. But I am looking on ebay (though I am leary of paying near-retail prices there and ending up getting a knock-off) and I want to take a trip to the Coach Outlet store in the outlet mall before I make my decision (the outlets are very reputable, I assure you).

So, when Spoil-Myself Day arrives, I'll try to remember to post a picture.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com