new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Please define "work" for me.
2005-11-05, 3:11 p.m.

Before I forget....
Back to the pediatrician yesterday for more shots...

Jack is now 16lbs, 15oz., and 27.5 inches long. That puts him in the 77th and 98th percentile, respectively. I'll never know how two people who are pretty much on the small side of average can produce such a big baby. For his sake, I hope it holds out; I never liked being a short kid.
You know, I've come to the conclusion that I'm getting really tired of people commenting about how much work babies are or how hard it is to be a parent. Yes, I am fully aware of all of that, but at the moment, it's pretty darn easy in the grand scheme of what it's going to be like over his entire life. He doesn't speak, he doesn't move around, I'm lucky in that he doesn't cry much for now apparent reason. There is a limited range of things thus far that he can know about to want and/or need. I'd like people to just let me have my relative amount of peace while I still can. And as far as what I consider to be "work," I haven't so much felt like being a mother (up to this point) is "work." It's an exercise in sacrifice... Yes. It's physically exhausting at times... Yes. I have been frustrated on occasion... Yes. But all of that doesn't feel like "work" to me. In the end, I have an adorable little son who has made me see the whole world from a new perspective.

When I am at my job, THAT feels like "work." At the end of the day, I may think to myself, "THAT was a lot of work," or "I worked hard today." Cleaning the house, THAT is work for me. Taking care of my son is something all together different.

Being a mother is just doing what needs to be done, as it is required. In "work" you do what you can. For children, you do it all.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com