new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Christmas Shopping Season
2005-12-12, 2:13 a.m.

Well, I'm pretty sure I've finished all of my Christmas shopping. I'm going to have Jeff pick me up one more gift certificate since the store is near where he works and that should be it.

It's kind of funny how, after I've been telling people for weeks that I have no clue what they can get me for Christmas, now I have all sorts of ideas. For instance, I just told Jeff if he wanted to pick me up anything else (he mentioned that he can't find the thing he was looking for--so much for he and I not exchanging gifts this year), that they are advertising "No-sew fleece throw" kits at the local craft supplies store. My aunt made us one last year in a baby pattern and it's really great. I'd love to learn how to do it and I figure the kit is a good start. I can tackle that and then move up to starting from scratch at some time in the future. Also, I think a french press coffee maker might be just the thing I could use at work to save me from the crappy office stuff that I'd otherwise have to drink. Then again, that's not really very supportive of my future plans to cut back down on my caffeine. And then there's always a few skeins of some sort of fun knitting yarn that will some day turn into a project for me. I've had my eye on the more weirdo-type styles like mosaic and fun-fur just to do something different. But, anyway... I, of course, couldn't think of any of these things back in November when it might have been useful information. In general, when I think of what I want for Christmas I can almost truly say, "nothing," even in spite of the above list. The only things that normally would run through my mind would either be filed in the "something to waste my time" category (i.e., most things involving the computer) or "something to take up space" (which I normally wouldn't mind too much but our apartment seems to be slowly shrinking over the past year and as I think I've mentioned before, I'm petrified right now at the idea of buying a house). So, for that reason, it's been really hard to give anyone gift-giving ideas this year.

One other thing I noticed today in my shopping adventures is yet another reason to be thankful that God blessed us with a little boy. Somehow, I've lost the ability to relate to things that might be interesting to little girls. (I'll be very general, Nikki, as not to give anything away if you wanted to be surprised since you know I'm talking about stuff I'm sending to you) I was under direction that anything fru-fru would be great. Unfortunately, all the cute little girly things that I found were marked "ages 3 and up" which only worked out for half of my shopping needs. Advanced warning--that's what I ended up with, so Nikki, you may want to give things a good once over to make sure things are good as far as choking hazard and whatnot. I know what not to give a 5 month old, but a more animated toddler-type, I'm still not experienced with. In the end, I'm very satisfied but it was a tougher road getting there than I expected (All my little-girl gift buying lately has been for the neices and they aren't really typical--I hope--of what normal little children want, ask for and expect for gifts).

Whoa.... Okay, I took a benadryl earlier to clear me up through the end of my clogged sinuses and it's starting to kick in. Time for bed.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com