new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood: Weary
Watching: The State of the Union Address
Reading: Blackwood Farm

The Saga of SIL
2007-01-23, 9:09 p.m.

How about a quasi-normal entry that anyone can read? I suppose I haven't posted any news on the SIL in a while. I may have said before that she is all settled into her new, uncharred apartment and it's actually really pretty nice. I'm really happy for her and the girls on that point. There is some reason to believe that it's not all wine and roses with her dickhead boyfriend, so there's another thing to hope that the future will bring an end to. However, speaking of her monsterously bad taste in men, one of her ex's has popped back up again. He's the father of my younger two nieces. While normally I'd be for the idea of children being reunited with their father, I think everyone agrees that this is a bad, bad idea in this case. Hopefully, it won't happen and if it does, it will most likely have a kidnapping charge attached to it.

This guy, I'll call him Charlie, he's bad news. The knowledge that I have of him from when they were together tells me that he is perpetually unemployed, abusive mentally and physically to my SIL, a drug user and very likely an alcholic. He also probably sexually assaulted my oldest niece (not his daughter, biologically, though she had grown up thinking that he was up till that point). "Probably" just means that she made the accusations (this was before she had a history of lying--this may have been the event that messed her up to begin with), but the charges were dropped due to "lack of evidence," or so I'm told.

Well anyway, it started with him sending the SIL a letter to my in-law's house, unexpectedly. I don't know exactly what it said, but I hear there was a lot of talk about him "making things right" and coming back into their lives. SIL's contacts that are acquainted with him say he hasn't changed at all. Since then, he's been calling my in-law's house looking for her multiple times in a day and even showed up there once (that I know of, maybe more) when my mother-in-law was home. My in-laws are kind of blowing it off, which is really starting to scare me. SIL is taking it seriously--she's sending him a letter via a lawyer to not attempt contact with her any other way except through the lawyer's office and is suing him for sole custody of the girls. From my perspective, whatever it is that he wants, he's crazy and he's beginning to get desperate. He's also very obviously still strung out on drugs.

I'm really afraid he's going to show up at the in-laws one of these days and push his way through the door. I'm not totally sure if he'd try to hurt my mother- and father-in-law, but I have very little doubt that he'd grab one of the kids and maybe take off if they happen to be there at the time. My MIL's response to my husband and the SIL telling her to not answer the door when he comes around was, "Oh, I can handle him." She's smaller than me and somewhat naive in this situation. It's actually to the point where I can't see letting Jack ever be over there without us or really even ever being out of our sight when we are there (more in warm weather months when the girls will be wanting to take him outside to play). I really have a bad, bad feeling about this.

2007 is not shaping up to be a better year. I can't afford right now to not listen to my gut.



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com