new | old | Private Archives | profile | rings | cast | email | book | notes | Blip | host | image | design

Mood:
Watching:
Reading:

Maybe my breasts are just too sleepy
2005-08-05, 6:42 p.m.

The last two nights have been good sleeping nights (as good as can be expected, I guess). After the misery that was Tuesday night, Jeff stayed up with me until Jack fell asleep, which put us in bed around 2:30 or 3 AM. In hindsight, that was pretty stupid because both of us were pretty wiped out for when he woke up later, which was around 5. Jeff got up for that one, which was unintentional but I couldn't move so since he had such a nice night the previous day, I rolled over and passed back out. Last night, I went off to bed around 10:30; Jeff came in a couple of hours later saying Jack had been asleep since midnight. The kid slept till 5 AM, when I think I accidentally woke him up while checking on him. I was back in bed by 6:30 and he didn't get up again till around 10:30. How nice! Unfortunately, he's been asleep most of today too, so I'm sure he'll be up all night tonight.
I did something yesterday that I think borders on being an impulse-purchase. Well, sort of... I'd been thinking about it for a while, I guess, and if I was going to do it I had to do it before it was too late. I went to ebay and bid on one of those Medela brand breast-pumps like the one they had at the hospital. The nurse there said that it was the only one that was strong enough that it would stimulate milk production. One of my friend from work, Shellee, had her daughter about 3 weeks after Jack arrived and she has one. She's making so much milk, it's just insane. I justified by thinking how much we'll save if we can just get this lactation thing going. I've tried everything else, but still I'm not producing nearly enough to even come close to meeting Jack's needs (everything except medication, but my doctor didn't mention it even when I told him we were having problems... He said "nurse more, pump less" basically... That's easy for him to say when I'm the one with an 11-plus pound baby who is HUNGRY). And even still, once everything is said and done, shipping and whatnot, I'm still paying less than half of what they retail for. If it works, it will be way past worth it.
If it works...



last - next

Women... And stuff... - 2012-08-19
Sniffles - 2012-08-18
Time to kill while waiting for a late dinner... - 2012-08-11
0.0 - 2012-08-05
Locked and Isolated in BlogLand - 2012-08-03





Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker

Lilypie 1st Birthday Ticker




i'm in ravenclaw!
be sorted @ nimbo.net
Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com